Half Marathon

This past week I made an important decision.

In October, I am going to run a half marathon.

It’s been 4 years since I ran “The” Marathon. The Marathon that changed me in a lot of ways.  The Marathon that was the last great moment that I can remember before my depression began rapidly descending on me. It was The Marathon that saved me from depression even sooner.

In a lot of ways, The Marathon was kind of disappointing. I relied so much on my ex husband’s support that I honestly didn’t feel like I had done it myself. It was like he was the one who carried me when it got tough. Afterward I felt as though I wouldn’t have been able to do it on my own…so in a lot of ways, it didn’t really feel like my victory. To be clear, though – it was a two way street. He may have propped me up but I leaned on him just as much, because I really didn’t believe in myself – at all.

This time around, it’s going to be a whole other story.  Sure, I’ve got CBG there to be my supporter and my cheerleader, but the difference is that he has enough faith in me to stand back and let me do it (whatever “it” may be – this half marathon or anything else in life) on my own. This time I will cross that finish line knowing that I’ve done it on my own. And at this point in my life, that means a lot to me.

But you know what? Having CBG’s smiling face there to greet me at the finish line is going to mean the world to me.

Now I’ve just gotta get my ass in gear and start training. Only 137 days to go.

5 Responses

  1. WOOHOO!! So proud of you! We can do LOTS of #rundates this summer since I’ll be training too! This is going to be a fantastic experience for you, and with CBG with you cheering you on, even better 🙂

  2. Rock the fuck on!

    THAT’S what I’m talking about! I was wondering when you’d finally announce that. I knew it was coming sooner or later…. 😉

  3. You go, girl!!!! Good for you.

  4. LOVE IT!!!! You, me and jobo will have to ‘virtual” train together. VERY cool. LOVE everything about this challenge for you.

    • I ran a full marathon back in 2007 and it was an awesome experience. While I don’t have time to train enough to do it again, I think that at this point, a half will do quite nicely. 😉

      And yes, we need to set up some virtual running dates for sure!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

