37 items for my 37th Birthday

Today is my last day as a 36-year-old. Tomorrow I turn 37. Even if I’ve been in denial in the last year, the truth is undeniable: I am in my late 30s.

And instead of whining and moaning I’ve decided that I’m going to rock 37. I spent yesterday writing a list of 37 items that I’m going to focus on in the next year. A manifesto of sorts…areas that I want to focus on in my quest to totally rock the year. The list is ambitious, yes, and I won’t nail them all perfectly, but hell, it’s as good a place to start as any. I’m going to put this list on a big-ass poster and hang it in my bedroom where I can look at it every single day and be motivated to get out there and keep rocking it.

  1. Allow happiness.
  2. Use your time more wisely.
  3. Get organized.
  4. Challenge yourself.
  5. Let go of the things that don’t really matter.
  6. Practice self-care.
  7. Spend more time focusing on today. It’s the only guarantee you’ve got.
  8. Do more yoga.
  9. Don’t distract yourself from the tough stuff.
  10. Cut yourself some slack.
  11. Chase negativity away.
  12. Let go of your expectations of others.
  13. Read more.
  14. Stretch your limits.
  15. Declutter.
  16. See possibilities.
  17. Eat more vegetables.
  18. Unplug from the online world regularly.
  19. Be an example to the girls.
  20. Play.
  21. Feel the fear and do it anyway.
  22. Be a better friend.
  23. Make the apartment a home.
  24. Make a 5 yr plan knowing that you may or may not stick to it.
  25. Cook real food more often.
  26. Move outside your comfort zone whenever possible.
  27. Look for learning opportunities.
  28. Listen to that quiet voice inside.
  29. Find a creative outlet.
  30. Be yourself. You are good enough. Don’t apologize for being you.
  31. Be the mom you know you’re capable of being.
  32. Give others the space to be themselves (even if you don’t really like it).
  33. Throw caution to the wind.
  34. Pay attention to that internal dialogue – readjust as necessary.
  35. Appreciate your gifts and talents.
  36. Express gratitude for all the great things you have.
  37. Believe.

Goodbye 36, hello 37. We’ve got this.

14 Responses

  1. Love your list!! Aging freaks me out…as I’m sure it does everyone. I think I may take some of your list and apply it to my life…because why wait, right?

    Also: Happy early Birthday!!

    • It’s funny, but the older I get, the more comfortable I seem to be with the aging thing. It’s like something clicked the year I turned 30. I honestly feel like I am getting better with age! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. love this list so much!!!!!! and you!

  3. Awesome list! I won’t be on here tomorrow, so happy birthday a little earlier!!!! I hope you have a WONDERFUL weekend! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Wow. This list rocks! As do you!

    Very cool. I may steal this! But I have to add more to it because I’ll be turning 42 this year! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    And I agree, the older I get, the more relaxed I feel about aging. You’re gonna be the best 37 year old ever! Happy birthday beautiful!

  5. What a great list! and may I say, you are a hot 37!! Not that 37 year olds shouldn’t look hot, but you are just super hot! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Hope you have a wonderful birthday and weekend with CBG!! XO!

  6. HAPPY BIRTHDAY MS!!

    I love your list!
    Enjoy your weekend!

  7. I love it!!! I’m 3 weeks behind you to 37 and I’m going to make the same kind of list. Thank you so much for sharing! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Hi i’ve never commented before but i had to say what a great idea, my birthday was over a month ago but i joining in on the 37 well (34) list.
    there’s a few that i really love like

    Donโ€™t distract yourself from the tough stuff.

    Spend more time focusing on today. Itโ€™s the only guarantee youโ€™ve got.

    Stretch your limits.

    love it!

    by the way a late happy birthday

  9. […] a dismal, cold and gray Monday morning…I will make through. Looking back over my list of 37 items for my 37th birthday, there are a few items that particularly jump out at […]

  10. […] It will calmly and rationally gesture toward a certain list that you made just a few days ago. […]

  11. […] then I am reminded that as part of my list of “37 Items”, I have vowed to not distract myself from the tough stuff.ย  And this is no different. But really? […]

  12. […] weeks ago my friend Momma Sunshine turned 37 and she put together this list of “37 items for my 37th birthday“.ย  I thought it was so fantastic that I’m inspired to make my own manifesto. […]

Leave a Reply

