“I Let Him Go”

It’s true that none of us can see into the future. I honestly believe that we aren’t meant to see what’s in store for us. I think if we did know, we’d more than likely get in our own way and mess it up, trying to make things happen when we wanted them to. And so the future remains a mystery.

One of the things I love about life are the unexpected surprises. Ask me five years ago and I would have had no idea that this is the exact place that I’d be right now. I had no idea that, despite the imperfections of my life, that right now I’d be happier than I could ever imagine being.

So while I may not be able to see into the future, I do know that I don’t want to arrive at some point in the future where I find myself saying, “I had the love of my life…and I let him go.” No matter how difficult the distance becomes, living without him entirely is a far worse fate. The future is coming at the exact same rate no matter what I do….and isn’t it going to be a whole lot better when I get there and have “happily ever after” waiting for me?

You bet your ass it will.

One thing I know for sure about the future. I’m not going to be a bitter old hag who had love and let it go. I’m going to be a spunky old lady who is still very much in love with the man of her dreams. The man who waited for as long as it took. The man who was worth waiting for.

Letting him go? Pfft. Not an option.

7 Responses

  1. Hells yeah, trouble!

  2. It’s nice to hear about two people that are dedicated to each other and put up with the hard parts. Way to go!

  3. I second what RE said.

  4. OMG I read the title and freaked for a second…thought it meant you DID let him go. Phew.
    *collecting myself*
    YES! AMEN SISTA! I love the way you think.

Leave a Reply

