“Be Careful What You Wish For”

My lovely sister and I had an interesting conversation on the weekend. I got talking about how far I’ve come in the last two + years, since ending my marriage and getting out on my own. I noted that it’s taken me a long time to get here, but I am finally, finally here….at a place that I wished so much for two years ago.

My sister pointed out, “Well, obviously, one of the things that you needed to learn was patience.”

Bingo. And that’s a lesson that I still haven’t completely learned yet….this I know.

Looking back two years ago, I wanted to immediately achieve everything that I have right now, two years later. But I can see that I would have missed out on a lot of lessons along the way had things happened like that. More importantly, I am able to see that things taking a while to work out was actually for the best, all things considered. Had I gotten everything I wanted when I wanted I wouldn’t have been ready for it. I would have missed out on a lot of valuable lessons along the way. And most of all, I wouldn’t be able to appreciate what I have.

Ain’t hindsight great?

That’s why I know that some things are beyond our control. We don’t always know what’s best for us. My sister reminded me of that expression, “Be careful what you wish for.” While I do think that ultimately I knew what was best for me – it was the how quickly I should accomplish it that I didn’t need to be in charge of. Wishing for it all instantly would have meant not being nearly as happy with my life as I am right now.

So maybe The Universe does know what it’s doing after all.

But one thing I *do* know is that it’s time to make a whole new wish list…and learn how to sit back and wait for it to come to me – when the time is right.

14 Responses

  1. Patience is the one thing I too wish I had. Congratulations on coming through the last couple of yrs. Divorce is a bitter pill.

    • You know, the failure of my marriage has been an incredible learning experience for me, thankfully. I feel like it has prepared me to have a much healthier relationship this time around.

  2. That sister of your’s must be really something else!

    I agree, hindsight is a wonderful thing.

  3. Hindsight is so damn right all the time, isn’t it? You have patience, you have happiness, and you have a short life for the Universe. Not too much to ask, I don’t think 😉

    • I’m glad at least that I have the ability to look back and see that things worked out the way they did for a reason. That makes all the struggling up until now feel a lot more worth it.

  4. I struggle with the patience thing a lot still. My divorce was final almost a year ago, and there is so much still in flux in my life. I’m yearning for things to settle down and to feel like I’ve finally truly moved on.

    • It’s SO TOUGH to have patience with life when all you can think about is how much you want things to be different. I think that at least part of the key is to look for the good in the right now. At least that helps make it more bearable. 😉

  5. This is a great reminder post for us all.

  6. This post reminded me of what i recently told my 27 year old son when he was second guessing a break-up with his girlfriend. We must all go “through it” to get “past it” or where we need to be. You have definately done that! Congrats!

    • As tempting as it sometimes is to rush through the “bad stuff”, I think that we learn a whole lot more by just allowing life to unfold at it’s own pace. 🙂

  7. Um… yeah! I so totally get this. All in due time… (that’s what I tell myself these days.)

  8. Ahhhh, patience is soooo hard. Instant gratification is where it’s at. Just kidding. The things that take the longest are generally the ones that are most worth it. Glad to see you in such a good place!

Leave a Reply

