It Sounds Like You’ve Met Your Match

The night after I returned home from our awesome vacation, I phoned my mom, who wanted to hear all the details of the trip. I filled her in on our flight woes, told her all about the cruise ship itself, all of the ports we went to, and some of the things we participated in while on board. She loved hearing all about it.

My mom has been a pretty big supporter of mine over the last couple of years. She knew that I was unhappy in my marriage for a long time, even though we never spoke of it often. She’s commented to me in the last year or two that I seem so much more like myself again (finally); that while I was with my ex I had morphed into a person that she didn’t recognize anymore. She seems to be feeling relieved that I am “back to my old self” – the self that I haven’t been for a long time. I am happy, full of life, ready for adventure, independent, and most importantly – not afraid to do for myself. These days I feel better than I think I ever have before.

I know that she gives CBG a lot of the credit for this. And he definitely deserves it. Not because he tries to change me, but simply because he has given me the space to find myself again. He is my biggest cheerleader, without trying to influence the direction that I’m taking. And to further add to his awesomeness, he has a way of bringing out the best in me…simply by being himself.

At one point during our phone conversation while I was entertaining my mom with one of my tales of how much fun and adventure we had together she commented, “It really sounds like you’ve met your match in CBG.” And it’s true. We’re the same in all the areas that truly matter, and yet different enough to be interesting. I’ve never been this much like someone I was dating before. And it feels so very, very right.

My match. And after spending the entire week together that has only been further confirmed – for the both of us.

More in love than ever, people. Kinda makes you throw up in your mouth a little, huh?

8 Responses

  1. This was so nice to read…and nice to meet you…Im pleased you have turned back to your old self…your mum will be delighted..great post..I know this feeling very well .Eliza Keating

  2. Hahahahaha! I love the caption on the photo. Great pic, as usual.

    Perfect. Love it. Well deserved for BOTH of you.

  3. Very wonderful!! You bring out the best in each other. You can see it in the pic.

  4. Aww! I love this! LOVE the pic, you can see the joy in your eyes (both of you).

  5. LOL I for one am NOT throwing up in my mouth – one, because I hate throwing up (lol) and two, because I freaking love this. You guys are awesome. You know you, you know him, you each have that balance we all strive for together. So well deserved.

  6. I love seeing you this happy! 🙂

  7. Such a sweet post.

  8. […] I used to feel like I would never be able to open up  my heart and take that kind of a risk again. Funny what love can do to you. CBG and I have had several conversations about when we get married. For us, it’s only a […]

Leave a Reply

