Moments

There are so many things that I want to say about this past week. As I process all of this, in the coming weeks and months, I’m sure that there will be a number of blog posts about the past four days of my life. Right now it is all too overwhelming to write down….as though mere words can’t adequately do this time justice.

As dramatic as it sounds, this has been a life-changing week for me. For a number of reasons, in a number of different ways.

In the past four days I have felt more love than I have in my entire life.

I have had the honour of being witness to a man’s steadfast love and devotion to his soul mate of nearly 45 years.The dedication that CBG’s dad had for his wife is unlike any I’ve ever seen. It was truly inspirational.

This week I have had the privilege of getting to know CBG’s dad so much more….a man with a huge heart who is deserving of so much respect and admiration. I was able to be there to help and support him through one of the most difficult things he’s experienced in his entire life, and I was glad to be able to do it. I look forward to getting to know him even more as time goes on.

I have cried tears of sorrow, tears of happiness and tears of love.

I have seen what true and lasting friendship really is.

I have felt my love, pride, respect and admiration for CBG grow exponentially. I am, without a doubt, more in love with him than I was four short days ago. He has amazed me with his strength and his character. I always knew that he was an outstanding person, and this week I got to watch as others saw that in him, too.

I have felt – more than ever before – that CBG and I were meant for one another.  No matter how long this LDR drags on. No matter how many challenges that we end up facing. No matter what happens in the future. Right now, without a doubt, we were meant to be exactly where we are.

I have learned exactly what I am made of. It turns out that it’s so much more than I ever imagined. Yes, I was challenged this week, but I am grateful for it. I have been shown my own strength and what I am capable of. In the span of four short days I have grown and learned even more about myself.  And I am proud of what I have accomplished.

11 Responses

  1. Wow. Such a touching post. To see the devotion of CBG’s dad to his wife must have been both hard to witness but almost equally touching and worthy of admiration. I am SURE this has been a ridiculously hard four days for you, but it sounds like you’ve learned an inordinate amount about yourself, about CBG and about your relationship. A silver lining in all of this sadness. Stay strong.

    • It really does feel like a silver lining, you’re right. Through the sadness I feel incredibly inspired to keep seeking out happiness and love and living life to the fullest. I am surrounded and loved by some pretty incredible people, and it was so comforting to be shown that this week.

  2. This brought a tear to my eye. Mostly because I can honestly feel the love and gratitude and learnings from this post, from the past four days. CBG’s dad sounds like a great man, and their relationship sounds like it was truly one of a kind. I am so glad you were there and realized your strength. That’s just awesome.

    • I lost my dad when I was 14, and we were never close to begin with. Having CBG’s dad in my life now is like finding the father I never really had and always wanted. So being able to be there for him (and CBG of course) meant a lot to me.

  3. Heartfelt. Absolutely heartfelt Sunshine. It shines through in this post.

    I wish you a lifetime of love like this. ❤

  4. Beautiful post. I look forward to reading more in the days to come.

    Again, so happy that you two have each other especially through this time of need.

  5. This also brought a tear to my eye. It was very moving. I’m so glad you found strength through the pain.

    • It’s funny…I’ve often been called a ‘strong’ person. And I don’t think I’ve ever fully believed it until now, but now, after everything that has happened, I finally do. 🙂

  6. […] I loved my man through relationship blips and blended family challenges. I held him up during the most difficult moment of his life. I faced some inner demons. I found my niche in the stepmom role. I examined my relationship with […]

Leave a Reply

