A Valentine for CBG

Dear CBG:

It’s impossible to put into words the way that I feel about you, about us, and about me now that we are together….and yet I find myself finding the need to try.

You are so much more than I ever expected to find in a partner. You are my friend, my confidante, my lover. You encourage me to be the best person that I can be, and give me the space to do it. You make me laugh more than anyone else on the planet. You know me better than anyone else ever has. You look at me with a passion that I’ve never known before. With each touch I can feel your love flow from you into me. You respect me. You know exactly how to love me.

These last two years have been full of many challenges for us. And yet with each challenge, we have learned, grown, and become stronger together. We have many more challenges to face together, and it’s because we have proven our ability to love each other through anything that I feel prepared to meet whatever The Universe throws our way. I know without a doubt that our love will see us through.

Being with you has taught me how to be strong and independent. I have learned to stand on my own two feet, for the first time in a very long time. Our relationship has taught me to believe in myself again. I don’t remember the last time I was able to honestly say that I did.

Being with you has taught me that I should never settle when it comes to something as important as love. You have set the bar for me. Nothing less than what we have will ever be enough.

Being with you has taught me what it means to truly be loved for exactly who and what I am…imperfections and all. You have seen the worst of me and continued to love me, amazingly, despite that.

Being with you has made me believe in love again.

No matter what the future holds for us, I truly believe in my heart that we were meant to be together…whether it is only for a period of time, or for the rest of our lives. Nothing else can explain finding someone who is exactly what I need in a partner, at exactly the time that I needed to find him.

I am constantly amazed at how our love continues to grow. It makes me even more excited for our future together. Because our love makes me feel like we can survive anything.

I love you…so very, very much. And there’s not a day that goes by that I’m not grateful for having miraculously found you.

Happy Valentine’s Day.

Oh..and P.S. I like your beard.

6 Responses

  1. Wow…you actually brought a tear to my eye and a smile to my face this morning.

    Thank you, baby. That meant a lot to read.

    I love you, too. A lot.

    xox

  2. Awww….that was so sweet. Brought a tear to my eye too! Happy Valentine’s Day you two.

  3. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww!

    Love you both.

  4. I am so glad I stumbled across you in the blogosphere. That was beautiful. My eyes did glass over. I wish the two of you many, many more Valentine’s together. Thanks for the inspiration.

  5. Dammit. You two seriously are perfectly perfect.

  6. This made me tear up… it’s beautiful.

Leave a Reply

