Defining Happiness

It’s occurred to me recently that I think I have this whole happiness thing all wrong.

Somewhere along the way, a very big part of me bought into this idea that being happy means “puppies and rainbows” all the time. It means waking up with a leap and a smile every single morning, excited to attack the day. It means being content with every single aspect of your life.

Well…I call bullshit on that. BULLSHIT!!

The thing is, intellectually, I know this to be true. It’s believing it on a deep emotional level that I sometimes struggle with. It would seem that often, when I’m having a bad day (or even a bad week, as I was last week), there’s a part of me that jumps at those moods as an opportunity to say, “See?! I knew it! Happiness is NOT for you!”

And it’s when I start thinking those thoughts, that my mood really plummets.

It’s important for me to remember that we all have bad days….bad weeks, even. And considering everything that’s been going on with me lately, I’m entitled to a bad week. That doesn’t mean that I’ll never be happy again. It’s doesn’t mean that I’m destined to be a miserable person for the rest of my life. It just means that I’m going through a rough patch – period.

I came across this quote the other day, and found it completely fitting for my life right now:

“Happiness is not the absence of problems but the ability to deal with them.” ~Author Unknown

So…um…the next time I start in with the foolish talk about “giving up” on life, someone give me a good old fashioned kick in the ass, would ya?

9 Responses

  1. Well yeah! Love that quote!

  2. Hm. Interesting. I always just took it for granted that life has ups and downs, and happiness is just getting through the rough times and embracing the good moments.

    But when you’re having a rough time, it’s easy to feel like things will never get better. Just remind yourself that’s not the case the next time it happens. Or, you know, a good kick in the ass works, too.

  3. The only thing that has kept me clean and sober for nearly two decades is the acceptance that life isn’t going to be puppies and rainbows. It’s going to be little moments – like stopping on the landing and looking up at your four-year-old’s bedroom door – you know, the four-year-old that drove you nuts half the day – and realizing just how special this time is, and how lucky you are to have his wonderful self in your life, and maybe get a bit teary. It’s remembering to find the good amidst the not-so-good.

    And as soon as I am a perfect human being who does this all the time, I’ll let you know my secret. LOL

  4. Yeah!! That’s the Sunshine I know!! You got this! But if you ever want a kick in the ass, I’ll help you out ;-P Kidding.

  5. Yes. Will do. 😉

  6. Love the quote! I stole it for my FB status! 🙂

  7. I struggle with this too….and I move quickly to “fight or flight” when facing almost any problem when I am in one of those periods.

    I think I need to focus on my abilities….thanks for the reminder!

Leave a Reply

