Rough Weekend

The storm prevented CBG from making his usual Friday night arrival. But it was okay. I spent the evening doing my own thing. I curled up with a movie, relaxed, went to bed early. Although it really sucked not to have him there with me, I survived.

The highways were cleared overnight and he arrived on Saturday at around noon.

Because of his late arrival the weekend seemed rushed. Losing those few extra hours was tough for me. I’m pretty selfish protective of our time together, so even a few hours together seems like a lot. Particularly when you consider the fact that many months we only see each other a total of four days out of 30.ย  But I was determined to make the best of the time that we did have.

This was a very atypical weekend for us. I’d had a pretty rough week. CBG has had a rough several weeks. It all seemed to come together on Sunday, when CBG woke up feeling like less than himself. In fact, he was feeling pretty down. We had two great conversations on Sunday – lots of opening up, lots of tears – for both of us. It’s so difficult having those kinds of conversations….but so very necessary. I fell asleep on Sunday night on CBG’s shoulder feeling closer and even more in love than ever before. After two + years together I’m still sometimes amazed that I continue to feel that way about him. And yet there it is.

Relationships are easy when it’s all puppies and rainbows and everything goes great. The challenge is when life gets in the way and things get tough…that’s the true test of love. CBG and I continue to prove that we’ve got the lasting power to make it through the tough stuff. We’ve had lots of challenges thrown our way, and it looks like that will continue to be the case for a while to come.

But no matter. We have love…and for now, that is enough.

 

10 Responses

  1. That is a beautiful photo of the two of you embracing.Gorgeous.

  2. Love the pic. And yes… those moments definitely push and open up even more love.

    Glad you have each other.

  3. Glad you were able to turn the rough weekend around into a beautiful moment! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. awww…what a beautiful picture. I can just feel the love from here. And you are right, when everything is puppies and rainbows, it’s easy. It’s when the going gets rough that is the test of any relationship. You’re proof that if you put the effort and attention and love in, you’ll get that in return. And it does take work.

  5. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww-WA!!! LOVE THIS. That picture rocks too. ๐Ÿ™‚ Make it profile pic??

  6. Love the photo ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Your posts always manage to make me smile!

    Great photo of you guys ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. […] funny. Yesterday I wrote about what a “rough weekend” it was for CBG and I. And sure…it was difficult. A couple of really intense conversations, and lots of emotions […]

  9. I soooo sgree with QT! Great post and even better picture!

  10. […] visit this time was a little less emotionally intense than last time. This visit allowed us four whole nights together, which is a huge treat on one hand, but makes […]

Leave a Reply

