Seeing Things Differently

*For privacy reasons I’m keeping details deliberately vague. In this instance, I think details are much less important than the lesson that needs to be learned here.

I have a difficult to deal with person in my life. This individual just rubs me the wrong way. Repeatedly. Constantly.

The thing about this person is that they’re going to be a part of my life for the foreseeable future. The situation that has us in each other’s lives isn’t going to be changing any time soon. I will continue to see them pretty much every single day for a long while to come.

This person has a way about them that leaves me feeling defeated in many instances when we interact. They erode at my already fragile self-esteem. And often when I feel that way, my reaction is to get angry.

I felt a lot of anger and irritation yesterday because of this individual. I spent a good fifteen minutes on the phone last night with CBG, in full-on complaint mode. Because of the situation, I really have no one else that I can “get it off my chest” with. As I was ranting in full bitch-fest mode, however, I actually began to “talk myself down”. I reminded myself that this situation isn’t going to change. This person isn’t going to change.

The only thing that I have any power to change is me.

Last night I went to bed with a request from The Universe on my mind. I closed my eyes and asked that The Universe help me to see this situation (and this person) differently. I asked for my heart to be open to other possibilities.

I fell asleep remember this quote from Eleanor Roosevelt:

”No one can make you inferior without your consent.”

This individual does not control  how I feel. The only person in charge of that is me. I need to let the negative feelings go so that I can focus on the things that are within my control, my own attitude being the most important.

And really, what’s a bigger “screw you” than not allowing a difficult person to ruin your day, anyhow? 😉

7 Responses

  1. Good for you!

    I hope that realization helps set the boat upright again. I think sometimes we need to go through the irritation before we realize that we can choose to feel differently.

    • Thanks, T. 🙂

      I’ve realized that I sometimes need to feel the negative feelings before I’m able to remember that feeling is a choice…and I can always choose to feel differently. It’s definitely a challenge, though.

  2. YES, that is so true. I had a person in my life until relatively recently too that basically seemed to be looking for a rise or reaction or response to her behavior and her finger pointing (at me and others) and I just plain ignored it and didn’t give her the satisfaction. Sometimes that IS the best satisfaction, isn’t it?

  3. Amen! I sometimes let people really get to me. Mostly they are coworkers who like to show their power or the lady on the bus that I see twice a day who yelled at me for not being a morning person. I need to remember this lesson too. I need to let the negative feelings go and face the fact that my situation can’t be changed right now. It also helps me to think about how their lives probably have other issues in them that make them so unhappy,

  4. […] been thinking about the situation on Monday night when I was bitching about the difficult person in my life. CBG simply stayed on the other end of the phone and let me get it all out. He offered relatively […]

  5. I love this because since you mentioned A Return to Love”, I have been trying to do this same thing. Good for you for this!

  6. I love that quote! I’m still working on living that quote because all too often I let others make me feel inferior. And I love what you said when you said “And really, what’s a bigger “screw you” than not allowing a difficult person to ruin your day, anyhow?” That’s sooooo true!

Leave a Reply

