A Season for Everything

I’ve been thinking a lot about my job lately.

I visited with a friend recently who gave me an interesting perspective when it came to my job. She was asking me about my relatively new-ish job, and I was giving her a bit of the lowdown. She’s been quite supportive of me in my job-finding quest (actually in life in general these past couple of years) and I honestly didn’t want to sound terribly ungrateful about this job, which, for all intents and purposes adds up to being pretty decent for a number of reasons. Hell, the fact that I managed to land a permanent job of any kind in this economy is enough that I should be overflowing with gratitude.

My friend pointed out to me that there is a time in life to pursue a fulfilling job that does nothing more than make one happy and that there is a time in life to focus on having a responsible job.

I mean, ideally a career should encompass both, but if it can’t, then choices have to be made, now don’t they?

Well, now is the time when it’s extremely important to have a solid, reliable, responsible job. A job with good, solid benefits. A job that is fairly understanding when it comes to family matters. Maybe when my girls are older and things like a reliable dental plan aren’t quite as important I can ditch being responsible and pursue my dreams with reckless abandon. In the meantime, I’m going to do what’s best for my family. And you know what else? I’m not going to be miserable, either.

As with many things, this is simply how things are right now. And I’m determined to be as happy, content and fulfilled by this particular job as I possibly can be. It all comes back to being grateful for what you have, instead of sad about what you don’t.

12 Responses

  1. Ya know, that’s a great outlook to have. I’ve been bummed a LOT lately due to my job. I am striving for that same passion that I once had for my career. GJ has never had a job that made him feel good. He only works to have money to pay bills and (hopefully) play. He doesn’t understand my frustration.

    *sigh*

    I’m working on appreciating it and finding passion right where I am. Thank you for the reminder.

    • It was a good reminder for me, too! I like the idea of just being content with where I am right now, knowing that it’s not always going to be this way. We both have plenty of time to pursue passion in our careers. In the meantime we should be thankful to have jobs that allow us to pursue other passions in life! 🙂

  2. You know, I am in the same boat! I was at a job I loved for 13 years — selling cruises at a local cruise only travel agency. I LOVED my bosses (a husband & wife). I LOVED my co-workers. I LOVED everything about my job. It was an inconvenient 35 mile commute, but it was so worth it having a job I loved. Then, my husband needed help (an office manager) in his optometry practice. We decided that no one could care for the practice as much as he and I together, so, 4 years ago, I quite my dream job to work for him (us). I cried the day I gave notice. I miss my other JOB so much, but it was the right thing to do. Unfortunately, things are not working for me at my husband’s practice. It seems I care about it more than he does and it has caused a huge imbalance. So, last week I asked for my old job back. Unfortunately, because of the economy, they are not hiring. So, like you, for now, I have to be content.

    • I find that one of the keys to being content is simply focusing on the things that you DO like about your current situation. Not always easy, but it makes it a little more bearable, I think.

  3. I am S-T-R-U-G-G-L-I-N-G with this same thing. How do you manage the non-miserable part of this equation? I am trying, and failing, and I really think the failing is what’s causing my panic attack and general upset…I hate to fail. Ugh. I’m making it worse, I know I am.

    • You know, we all fail sometimes. I tend to be very hard on myself when I do fail…and have greater expectations of myself than I do of others.

      What would you say to someone else, that you care about, if they were in the same situation that you are right now?

  4. That’s a great outlook. I’m sure I will need this reminder as my job gets more “normal” too and not so new and overwhelm-y!

  5. I decided the same thing yesterday!

    I thought to myself, ” Why tell yourself you don’t like this job? Tell yourself you love it!”

  6. What a great reminder.

  7. That is one of the things I’ve struggled with while trying to figure out if starting my own business was right for me.
    My son is young and while living with my parents right now isn’t what I want it does happen to be part of my life right now.
    It also happens to be an ideal situation when I’m unsure of what my income will be every month so I figured why not? I’ll run with it while I can and I have the ideal opportunity to do so.
    Getting the opportunity to have a grant to start it coincided perfectly with the timing of my moving back in with my parents (temporarily) so it’s almost like it was meant to be. Almost.

    If it doesn’t work out then maybe it wasn’t meant to be.
    But for now it just seems right, you know?

  8. Your friend is very wise, your job sounds like a perfect fit for this phase of your life. The number of fulfilling, safe, well paying, great people, good benefit package and flexible jobs out there is pretty small so hoping for that is setting yourself up for disappointment. When childcare is less of an issue and you have more time in the evenings, look for fulfilling volunteer positions to satisfy that part of your personality.

  9. There’s a great quote I read somewhere about us being as happy as we decide to be.

    I think that’s true.

Leave a Reply

