Put Up or Shut Up

Let me say this right off the bat. I know exactly how fortunate I am to have landed a permanent (decent paying) full time job in this economy. I know this. And I honestly don’t mean to be ungrateful for it. I know that there are many people out there struggling, either unemployed or underemployed. And for a long time, I was one of those people as well. So I am extremely grateful to be able to pay my bills and still actually have some money left over at the end of the month. I am deeply grateful for my medical plan and for the other perks that my job has to offer.

* * * * *

Last night on the phone I  had another interesting conversation with CBG.I found myself venting to him about work for the second night in a row. After bitching and whining for a good 10 or 15 minutes I jokingly asked, “So how many more months do you think I have before I start looking for another job?”

He paused only for a second before telling me, “Another couple probably.”

I kind of laughed but then said, “No! I’m giving myself a year there, remember?” To which he replied, “Who are you telling that to, me or you?”

* * * * *

There are some aspects of my job that I actually kind of like. I enjoy the nitty gritty details. Certain tasks are, in my nerdy opinion, actually kind of fun. Other parts,  I downright actively dislike. My job is relatively high stress and very deadline-driven. I often have people breathing down my neck, demanding to know when such-and-such is going to be finished (because they have someone breathing down their neck, demanding the same thing). I also dislike the fact that my job doesn’t actively add anything useful to the world at large. Now, we’re not out there stepping on newborn kittens or anything like that, but deep down I have a hard time actually believing in what my workplace produces.

As I laid in bed last night, after my phone conversation with CBG, I made an important decision:

It’s time to put up or shut up.

For better or for worse, right now, this is my job. Just like I asked for strength and courage and the ability to be happy with other aspects of my life, it’s now time to be happy with this aspect as well. When it comes to my job, I have plenty of room for improvement. I am still learning. If nothing else, this will be a good resume builder for a future fabulous career.

So you know what? No more excuses. No more whining. Sure, I’m allowed to have a bad day now and again. Hell, I’m even allowed to have a bad week. But since starting this job, I’ve been a little too focused on the aspects of it that I’m less than happy with. As I’ve found happiness in other areas of my life, I’ve dumped a little too much dissatisfaction onto my job. And you know what? I spend more waking hours every day at my job than I do at home. If I allow myself to get down and focus on the negatives of my job, how am I possibly going to be happy in the other aspects of my life?

So this is me –  putting up or shutting up. It’s time to end the whining. It’s time to accept that this is where I need to be right now. It’s time to focus on the good parts of this job.

It’s time to be incredibly grateful for what I actually have in all aspects of my life – this one included.

 

 

5 Responses

  1. When we spend so much time at work, we have to make the best of the situation. Being miserable at my job always leaks into other areas of my life. I’ve learned to embrace work while I’m there and then totally let it go the minute I walk out the door. Works wonders. Sometimes at night it’s a struggle not to be stressed about work, but I do my very best. You can do this!

  2. Ok, I know we’re like separated at birth and everything but seriously? Your post is exactly like mine today.

    Like whoa.

    Agreed. 100%

  3. LOL! I was just about to say…wow, this is JUST like T’s post! Like Whoa! <– love the use of this phrase (that I probably use WAY too much, I realize) too, that's awesome. I do think that there is definitely a time to be vested in you job and just focusing on it for advancement etc even if it's not the greatest. However, as I mentioned on T's post, I also think there is a time when you realize that no matter what you do and no matter how invested, nothing will change. Not saying that is the case at all here, it's just been a few months, just from my experience.

  4. This would be hard for me, but I’ll have to think about this. I’m a teacher and am having a really, REALLY hard time with decisions that are being made in our district. I really don’t like complaining all the time. It is draining. But if I just put my head down and shut up, stiff upper lip and all that, nothing will get better.

    I’ll have to think on this.

  5. Hello, stumbled upon your blog today and I must say, I enjoy it. I will have to add it to my reading list. =_)

    Marvelous Minutia

Leave a Reply

