The Wonders of the Universe

It’s a funny thing. I don’t know if it’s just because I’m in a long distance relationship and so I seem to notice these things more, but it would seem like The Universe is trying to tell me something.  I keep meeting people who either are, or have been, in successful long term relationships. Sometimes quite randomly.

Like the cashier at the grocery store who just happened to randomly  and quite out of the blue tell me that when he was in the military he would only see his wife every few months. They did this for 11 years. He told me that they never argued when they were together, because they were always “too busy catching up”. I didn’t mention to him that I was in a long distance relationship myself. I just smiled and told him that I thought that was lovely.

My new co-worker is in a long distance relationship as well. She and her husband only see one another on the weekends. Through the week she lives in the city and he lives out in the country, more than an hour away. It has been this way basically since they’ve been together, for the past decade. I told her about CBG and I, and how things aren’t going to be changing with us in terms of the distance any time soon. We agreed that while this kind of arrangement had its drawbacks, there were benefits, too. Benefits that made the relationship worth it in the end.

Alright, Universe…alright. I get the message. Again.

No, this isn’t the relationship that I would have chosen, had I been able to pick one out of a lineup. But the thing is, CBG *is* the man that I choose – each and every time. So the distance is just something I’m going to have to keep dealing with, now isn’t it?

And so keep dealing with it, I will.

Meeting these “regular” people, having them cross my path like this, is like reassurance from The Universe that everything’s going to be alright in the end. After all, if all these other people can make it work, then there’s absolutely no reason why we can’t, too.

But hey, Universe? How about you do me a solid and throw some people into my life who were able to successfully find a way to end their long distance relationships in the same city, hm????

10 Responses

  1. Wow. Isn’t that funny? The best part of all is that you were listening…

  2. I can imagine it must be hard! BUT I loved the line where you said you would choose him each and every time! That says it all!!

  3. I agree…you were listening! That’s awesome and you can make it work!

    • At this point, moving isn’t an option for either one of us, so we have to find a way to make it work. It’s not ideal for anyone involved, but we do the best with what we’ve got…

  4. I think it’s great you can recognize how lucky you are in spite of the challenges. I can’t wait to see how this story plays out once you finally live closer to each other.

  5. Man – the universe never talks to me.

    *jealousy*

Leave a Reply

