Happiness and Prayers

I’ve been known to pray from time to time, even though I don’t believe in a traditional “God”.

Ugh. The history of why I’m anti organized religion is long and complex and best kept off this blog. Let’s just say I’ve got some gut, knee-jerk reactions when it comes to talk of God.

I do, however, believe in something. I refer to “The Universe” here on my blog a lot. I believe that there are forces at work bigger than us puny humans. I believe in the powers of positive thinking and love.

To be honest, I’m still figuring out a lot of what I actually do believe.

Regardless of what I do or don’t believe, I find myself praying from time to time. I used to always pray for whatever it is I happened to want at the time.  As my spiritual views on the world have changed, I don’t believe anymore that this is how faith and prayers are meant to work. For starters, I think that sometimes we don’t always know what’s best for us. I also know, from personal experience, that getting what we want doesn’t often bring us true happiness. I also think there are times, as the story of CBG and I demonstrate, that there are forces at work that we simply don’t (or can’t) understand. I think that there are instances when what we want isn’t necessarily the best thing for us.

I found myself praying one night earlier this week.

There’s an uncertain element in my life right now – exactly what it is isn’t important. For the past couple of weeks, I have found myself wishing for this element to go in a certain direction (despite initial concerns). It looks as though things may not go the way that I wanted them to after all. But when I found myself, eyes shut, praying with all my might, instead of praying to get what I wanted, I found myself praying, instead, to simply be happy with however this happens to turn out. I asked for the wisdom and clarity to find the goodness, happiness and joy in whatever direction life happens to take for me.

I fell asleep that night feeling balanced, focused and most of all — happy. Happy because I know that no matter which way life takes me, everything is going to work out for the best in the end, despite what I might believe would be best in this moment. This particular element isn’t the be-all, end-all to my happiness in  life. It is but one minor detail. That, my friends, is what I believe is the key to true happiness – finding goodness in life, and in yourself despite the surface elements. Those surface elements will always change…but who I am at the heart of it all will remain relatively the same. And THAT is where I want my happiness to live.

4 Responses

  1. Amen sista, I could have written this post myself in parts, especially about finding goodness in life, despite surface elements that may impede that. Yes. that is EXACTLY what it’s all about.

  2. Yes! Love this post. The hardest part is the letting go of what we THINK we want/need.

    That’s when I try to go back to my fave line in A Course in Miracles, “Would you rather be right or happy?”

    Sometimes, trying to be right doesn’t make us happy at all…

  3. Working my way through this same thing. It’s actually working for me too! Again, (am I broken record here?) it’s very inspirational to me!

  4. Wow, what a great realization. You are so right about this.
    This reminds me of a saying that I have been replaying lately. “Rejection is Gods Protection”
    Rejection hurts, but 99% of the time, when you look back, it happened for a reason that wasn’t obvious to us at the time.
    I need to really think about this post right now and just pray to be happy with what ever happens in life.

Leave a Reply

