Two Years

For those of you who aren’t familiar with the story, here’s the condensed version.

Two years ago today I made the decision, on a whim (after a dream), to fire off a Facebook message (and friend request) to this guy whose blog I’d been reading for about six months or so. A guy who happened to know this chick I’d once met. I’d been reading his blog for months, even when I had no idea that my marriage was going to self-destruct. I liked reading because he was pretty cute, funny, and seemed like a nice guy. Most of all, he seemed lonely, and I really hoped that he’d find a nice girl to settle down with.

Who knew it would turn out to be me?

I had no idea, two years ago, that a flirtatious friend request would end up being one of the single most significant relationships I’d ever have in my entire life. I couldn’t have fathomed that I was connecting with someone who would teach me so much about life, myself, and the person that I am ultimately becoming. The man who be such a pivotal influence in my life.

No, it hasn’t been perfect. We both carry our own set of hurts put on us by previous relationships. We each have made mistakes, and will no doubt continue to make them. There will be days when the struggle will barely seem worth it. There has been hurt. There will, undoubtedly, be more hurt on the horizon.

But there will also be more joy. More joy and more love and more learning and more laughter and more happiness.

If there’s any person out there worth  the challenges that we face, it’s him.

9 Responses

  1. LOVE that picture of you and CBG!

  2. Aww! this is captured perfectly. I didn’t read your blog back then, so I love hearing how you met, and I love that you took a chance and it blossomed so beautifully. Congratulations you two!!!

  3. Wow, I had no idea that’s how you two met. What a great story!

    Congratulations! Is this the day you consider your anniversary? Or was there another date when you actually started “dating”?

  4. SOOO Sweet 🙂

    Oh, and there’s a Blog Award for you on my site!

  5. This is so cute! I love, love, love your “love” story!! Awesome.

  6. This post just makes me SO happy. Aaaah.

  7. Awwww. : D
    You can tell by your smiles how happy you make each other. Congrats on your milestone!

  8. […] happen. Finding love. I was that person, looking for it, and seeing beautiful love stories (like Sunshine and CGB – congrats you two, two years strong!) helped me when I doubted it would happen for […]

  9. Congrats on 2 years – here’s to many, many more!

Leave a Reply

