Finding Sanity on the Treadmill

So, kids, I joined a gym. One of the great things about my new workplace is that it’s next door to an all-women’s gym.

I haven’t been heading out on my morning runs. Frankly, because of the cold weather coming, and how dark it is in the morning, along with what seems like the exploding crime rate in my city, I haven’t been feeling brave enough to head out on many morning runs lately. So joining the gym seemed like a sensible plan.

I’ve been heading over on my lunch hours to hit the treadmill several days a week, when my crazy workload allows it. Between walking over there and changing (each way) I don’t get a whole lot of time, but I figure that 35 or 40 minutes of exercise most days is something. Plus, I have a couple of nights a week where I can hit the treadmill after work as well.

Last week, as I left the gym after my second treadmill session of the day, I found myself heading to the bus stop with a huge smile on my face. I felt calm, energized, relaxed and balanced. My body was humming from the physical activity. And I felt great. Then I immediately laughed to myself…because somehow I manage to keep forgetting how great I feel after a good workout. Great – and most of all – balanced. My body tingles, my mood is lifted, problems seem a whole lot smaller.

I need to remember that feeling so I hit that treadmill more often. Life will look and feel a whole lot better if I do.


4 Responses

  1. Amen to that. I get soooo lazy in the wintertime…

  2. SO true. I feel so much better when I work out. It’s easy to forget how good it feels when you aren’t able to keep it in your routine, but once you add it back in, it does wonders! Awesome!

  3. Excellent! Exercise releases endorphins that make you feel good. I notice it when I get up the day after playing tennis.

    Regarding your post yesterday about choosing happiness, sometimes happiness chooses you because you’re taking care of your body: eating right, exercising, sleeping enough. Don’t underestimate your body’s effect on your mind.

  4. Rock on girl friend! I joined my local gym too. I haven’t really used it much, even with the cold and the rain I tend to prefer walking outside.

    Once we get snow though I’ll be there each evening I’m sure.

    I’m glad you’re feeling good these days!

Leave a Reply

