Planting Good Thoughts

Yesterday my email inbox contained this message from The Secret Daily Teachings:

Do not worry at all about negative thoughts, and do not try to control them. All you have to do is begin to think good thoughts each day. Plant as many good thoughts as you can in each day. As you begin to think good thoughts you will attract more and more good thoughts, and eventually the good thoughts will wipe out the negative thoughts altogether.

Last night I needed this. It would seem that last week’s funk is trying to nose its way into this week.

And of course, it’s compounded by a healthy dose of post-weekend funk. The post-weekend funk part is to be expected.

The rest of it is just bullshit.

Inspired by my email, last night I made this to remind me:

I put it on my bedroom wall, where I will see it every single morning. A reminder to keep planting good thoughts, and eventually those good thoughts will squeeze out the bad ones.

Because the bad thoughts will always be there, won’t they? The key is to squeeze them out with good ones. It reminds me of something that one of my counselors told me, that really stuck with me. She told me that the goal of recovery, of moving on and becoming a better, stronger person isn’t to forget about the past and the bad memories and all the negative self-talk. The goal is to replace all those things with new and better memories and experiences that prove the bad things wrong. The past can’t be erased, no matter how hard we try.

Thoughts work the same way, I guess. I’m never going to get rid of the negative….this is something that I have to accept about myself. What I need to do is to find a way to co-exist with those negative thoughts and not allow them to take over and rule my life.  I need to plant enough good thoughts so they are bigger and stronger than those negative ones.

And so today I will keep working on that garden of goodness.

6 Responses

  1. What a great post.

  2. Did you know that some gardeners recommend planting more grass seed in order to suffocate out the weeds and have a greener, healthier lawn?

    Just sayin’.

    Great sign and great advice!

  3. Thank you for this post. I’ve also been having negative thoughts lately and I have no idea why. I might have to make my very own sign.

  4. Can you mail me that pretty sign? I need that too sometimes 😉 Good step and I hope it helps!

  5. Part of the PTSD I’m working through is getting stuck in negative “what-if’s”

    What if he gets out of jail and is still obsessed?
    What if he uses my kids to hurt me?
    What if he finds me?

    Instead I need to think positively and not get lost in all the fear and negativity.

    What if he gets out and never bothers me again?
    What if he gets help and isn’t obsessing anymore?

    There are good things to focus on – sometimes they’re just harder to see right away!

    I think I need to make myself a sign like that for my bathroom mirror!

  6. life goes the way it goes..it just has a plan for everyone..all the wisdom fails to help when u are actually caught in despair..its such dark a cover that rays of hope cannot come through before enough suffering and sadness..but in the end if u remind urself of how lucky still we are to have whatever experiences we do…its always a mixed bag,isnt it?and when i look back at moments when i was sad or was foolish to engage in a quarrel or may be a tantrum taken too far..i regret the time lost..
    i am not sad right now and so i am able to talk sense..but reminding myself even after an unpleasant experience to learn from it i have been able to take control of situation many a times..and a slight effort is what it takes now to get over things..this small change has taken years to happen..but its worth it..

Leave a Reply

