The Classic Mistake

So kids, I had a job interview yesterday. For a job that I want so badly I can taste it.

Thing is? I’m pretty sure I blew it. I’m not feeling terribly confident about how it went.

I came home at the end of the day yesterday in the foulest of moods. I was feeling negative. I was feeling overwhelmed. I was feeling sorry for myself. I sulked and stomped around all evening. I went to bed early, feeling worse than I have in a long time.

I woke up at 5:00 a.m. this morning and realized that I’d made a familiar mistake. I was putting all of my happiness eggs in a single basket. I was so focused on this particular job being my “one shot at happiness” that I’d forgotten all the other good things in my life.

There’s a huge danger in counting on a single thing for happiness, whether it’s a job, a relationship or hell, even a new pair of shoes. Happiness just doesn’t work that way. Because without a doubt, that one thing will eventually let you down in some way. Maybe you don’t the get job. Your partner disappoints you in a major way. Those new shoes give you blisters or pinch your toes.

There are no limits to the sources of happiness in life. Happiness doesn’t have to be in the form of a job or another person. It is found in all of the little things that make up life.

So what if I don’t get the job? I have two beautiful daughters. I have a man who absolutely adores me. I have a family who loves and supports me. I have friends who I know will be there for me when I need them. I have a good relationship with my ex. I have many, many reasons to be happy.

While I was out running this morning, I thought about all of these good things that I have. By the time I made it home, I knew that no matter what happens with this particular job, I will be okay. I have many other reasons to smile. Those are the things I will focus on.

7 Responses

  1. Glad you went running…and you never know about the interview; sometimes you think they went really badly and then it turns out it was fine. Chalk it up to one more learning experience.

  2. I like this outlook! You have beautiful daughters…job or not…you will keep having them, as well as CBG and so many other blessings. It helps if you concentrate on that but I know it’s hard sometimes. Good luck!!

  3. I’m glad you’re keeping positive and, you are right, you will be fine no matter what. But, just so you are aware, I’m keeping my fingers, toes and anything else crossed for you!

  4. Great turnaround, really, of your attitude from being upset about the interview, to realizing there’s more to the happiness basket. It’s hard NOT to get your hopes up on a job, I know exactly what you mean. Glad you have lots of other things to make you happy tho!! Fingers crossed the job stuff falls in place.

  5. Yep! I’m guilty of doing that too.

    Perspective is a beautiful thing!

  6. You rock – what beautiful insight and wisdom. Like they say, “happiness is an inside job,” right?

  7. I do this all the time.

    I love how you put it, “happiness eggs all in one basket” I get fixated on that thing that’ll make me happy and I forget to look around at what I already have.

    Great post Sunshine!

Leave a Reply

