What 10 Days Together Has Taught Me

CBG and I got to spend 10 whole days together on vacation with our kids. It’s the longest time we’ve ever spent together in one stretch…and it was with kids the entire time. I already wrote about how I wasn’t scared about what this time together was going to bring for us – things are at a point with the two of us that I no longer feel nervous about the same kinds of things that I used to.

This time together has taught me a lot – about CBG and I as a couple, and what we are capable of when we’re together.

– We parent well together.We complement each other, one being able to fill in when and where the other is sometimes lacking. It was such a relief to me to have someone else there backing me up during a couple of awful moments. I’d forgotten how comforting that can be.

– We handle “everyday life” well together. We got the car packed up, kids ready to go and in the car for a weekend of camping in no time flat.

– We can still manage to rock the casbah even after an exhausting day with the kiddos. Gladly. Like a couple of frisky teenagers, even…still in amazement of one another.

– I am still just as absolutely crazy about him almost two years later. As I see him snuggled up with one of my daughters on the couch, or when he kisses my shoulder as he walks by while I’m drying my hair in the mirror, I realize that I am actually MORE crazy about him than ever. I don’t even know how that’s possible sometimes…and yet…there it is.

These past 10 days together has shown us a taste of what full time life would be like. I say: “Bring It!” All we have to do is wait until The Universe brings it to us.

We’re ready for it.

9 Responses

  1. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. What T said.

  3. The Universe will. Because it’s just awesome like that.

    Like the two of you.

  4. Sounds like it was a great ten days.

  5. LOVE IT!! What an absolute turn around from some of both of your recent posts on the future of your relationship. Sounds like a major leap in the right direction!!!

  6. This was lovely. You write very well. And I’m glad your vacay together went well. I had the vacation from hell with husband and four kids, so to read you, I felt engulfed in your serenity.

  7. I’m really glad that it worked out so positively!

    Before I started blogging I never knew it was possible to gain so much pleasure from knowing about the happiness of others!

  8. Aw man!! I dont know how you guys manage to be apart hey!!

    The holiday sounds awesome though ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. I love this post….

    I’m praying the universe hears your call and brings you what you want the most.

Leave a Reply

