Life Lessons

I’ve been thinking about my life lately (yeesh, what else is new?). I’ve been thinking about patterns and things that have happened throughout my life, in particular in the last couple of years. There are themes that have emerged, things that I either need to focus on or learn, once and for all.

Independence. This one I’m getting a good handle on. Lord knows that being in this long distance relationship is certainly helping me with that one. I am learning to be comfortable with myself, with my own company, with doing things for myself and on my own. The good news is that I get to explore and learn all of these things while still having a man who loves me more than anything. How lucky am I?

Forgiveness. This one is a toughie for me.  I understand that forgiveness is more about the person doing the forgiving than the person who has wronged you. I get that, I really do. I have, over time, learned how to forgive myself. I have extended forgiveness to people from my distant past. It’s the more recent hurts that I have a hard time forgiving. I guess it just means that I still have some anger to process.

Living in the Moment. Another one that is tough for me. My tendency is to either look ahead into the future or re-live the past. I know that I have missed out on some wonderful things in my life because I wasn’t truly in the moment as it was happening. I am much more aware of this these days, and whenever possible, I stop to try and appreciate things as they are actually happening.

Gratitude. It’s so easy in life to focus on the negatives that the positives seem to just pass us by. I have been keeping a gratitude journal this year, and although I don’t always remember it every day, I’ve got a pretty good track record going with it….certainly better than I have in the past, and definitely the majority of days I stop to write down a couple of things that I am feeling particularly grateful for.

Faith. I’m not talking religious faith, I’m talking more about faith that despite all the unknowns in life, everything will work out alright in the end. I guess it goes along with living in the moment…’cuz if I’m able to do that, then worrying about how things will turn out in the end will be less of an issue, now won’t it?

I know that I still have a long way to go in life. I know that as time goes on, more themes and required lessons will emerge. My life isn’t perfect…but I do feel like I am on the right path and headed in the right direction. It’s taken me a long time to get here…and now that I am, I plan on enjoying every single minute of it.

11 Responses

  1. It’s a work in progress isn’t it. What I like about where we are at in life is that we recognize this stuff and are working towards it. 10 years ago I didn’t even realize that I need to do work on myself.
    This part of life is refreshing and exhausting all at once.

  2. This is a lovely and positive post. I like it a lot. We are all works in progress.

  3. Yes. Me too. On all of it!

    It’s a continuous process!

  4. It’s good to know that I’m not the only one still trying to figure shit out:)

    xoxoxo

  5. What is a gratitude journal? It sounds like something that could help me.

    • Basically it’s just a journal to write down things in every day that you are grateful for…even the smallest things. It’s a good way to stay positive and remind yourself of the good stuff in your life. 🙂

  6. Can I just copy/paste this into my own blog? Seriously all of the things I learn and struggle with daily too…

  7. Hey, enjoyed reading this post! Great points to take on board, something we can all do with fine tuning in our lives.

    I think you’ll enjoy my recent post on this subject here: http://bit.ly/adHjmX

  8. I guess the most important point is the last one you made. Learning to enjoy every single minute is, perhaps, the most important lesson of all. Life is too short not too.

  9. […] Life Lessons « Sunshine on My Shoulder More on this:Jersey Shore: Guidos Teach Me Life Lessons : College Candy15 Life Lessons from The […]

Leave a Reply

