Courage

Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear.  ~Ambrose Redmoon

I found this quote the other night and it really spoke to me. Fear has been something that I have long struggled with in my life. Fear has held me back in so many circumstances.

When I first heard the above quote, I felt almost like it was written just for me. I so often forget that everyone feels fear. The difference is that some people are able to keep the fear from paralyzing them, while others of us succumb to it and allow fear to be the most important thing.

I’ve had moments of overcoming fear, when I realized that there were things more important. Moments like when I was in labour with my youngest daughter. I was able to have the unmedicated natural labour that I wanted – despite the intense fear I was feeling. Or when I completed the marathon. Or when I finally found the strength to end my marriage.

I apply courage every day in my relationship with CBG. It often scares the hell out of me…but at the end of the day, I can see that the love we have is so much more important than the fear that surrounds it.

Having courage isn’t easy. Giving in to fear is certainly the easy road. It’s easy to have this big bad scary excuse for not challenging myself and pushing my own limits. I’ve been able to break away from fear in the past – I have concrete proof of this. And if I’ve done it before, then I can surely keep doing it, right?

Dear Fear: Consider yourself on notice. I’m gonna kick your ass.

6 Responses

  1. I too LOVE this quote. Really spoke to me too!!

  2. *like*

    Great quote. I also love your last line. Get all up in fear’s grill!

  3. Amen. Love this!

  4. I hope that you kick some major ass!!

  5. Thank you for a wonderful post.

  6. Good on you!

    I’ve always liked this quote: “Courage is the price that life exacts for granting peace. The soul that knows it not, knows no release from little things.” ~Amelia Earhart

    -R.

Leave a Reply

