The Fight for Positivity

Since my decision to give myself an “Attitude Makeover” I’ve been doing pretty good in remaining positive. I’ve had a few bad days during this time period, sure, but I haven’t felt myself sink into that negative headspace that I go to from time to time.

Today is going to be an even bigger challenge in that department.

CBG and I had a little “tiff” last night. Again. It seems like this happens when he and I allow ourselves to become disconnected from one another. For various reasons (most of them circumstantial), we hadn’t spoken on the phone since Thursday night. And I went to bed last night without phoning him again, either.

I just don’t know what’s going on with us. But it hurts. It hurts and leaves me feeling sad, worried and afraid for the future. And honestly, it’s kind of difficult to remain positive under those circumstances.

But still, I am going to do my best. Today I will immerse myself in work. On my lunch break I will go out and enjoy some beautiful, beautiful sun. I will think about the many, many things that I have to be grateful for in my life. I’ll write in my gratitude journal. I will get some exercise. I will go to bed early and get a good night’s sleep. I will consult my mental “positivity arsenal” and do those things that I know will keep me mentally, emotionally and spiritually afloat. Whether or not I remain positive today is in my control. This I know for certain.

I may not end the day on top of the world…but if I can go to bed tonight not feeling weighed down with negative thoughts and feelings, then I’ll consider today a winner.

I guess it’s all in how I choose to look at it.

5 Responses

  1. From one positive woman to another, I just want to say “Have a Great Day”. I enjoyed reading about your planned approach to conquer negativity ;).

  2. Have a great day. I know that life is hard but remember that with out the hard times we wouldn’t be able to be so grateful for the good.

  3. Hang in there. *hugs*

  4. It sounds like the best way to do deal with things. Sometimes I find when I don’t get to speak to the lovely lady in my life I assume that she’s not thinking of me and I assume it will all end in disaster. So far I’ve always been wrong.

  5. He didn’t call? 😦 I’m disappointed in that for you, SunShine. Bah. Men.

Leave a Reply

