Running Inspiration

I am one of those runners that absolutely needs to have music when I’m out pounding the pavement. It’s an absolute requirement. Without my trusty iPod, affectionately named “The Kermit Machine” (by my exhusband when he got it for me one Christmas years ago when we were dead broke and he borrowed the money from friends to surprise me with it), I simply wouldn’t be able to get out there for those early morning runs.

Different songs inspire me to get moving at different times. It just depends on my mood…where I currently am in my life…the attachments I’ve made to the song…whatever happens to strike my fancy at the time.

Right now this is the song that gets me moving.

What’s your inspirational song du jour?

6 Responses

  1. I used to ONLY run with an iPod and then my sister Jess noticed that I seemed uber anxious when I ran with music and thought it was affecting my runs…and I think she was right, BUT I do enjoy listening to music when I run, so I will probably do that sometimes, when I run alone. I REALLY like the “Airplanes Vol 2” song right now…and also love “falling to pieces” by the Fray. And anything by the Black Eyed Peas to get me moving 😉

  2. Love your song 🙂

    Running with awesome music is the way to go! I love upbeat songs for running and my song right now is “California Girls” by Katy Perry. I moved to Cali from Massachusetts over a year ago, and feel like a California girl when I’m doing my morning run…enjoying the beautiful weather esp in Dec, Jan, and Feb 🙂

  3. I suddenly tried running without music one day(my cousin swears by it!)and was amazed how much more I was in tune and in touch with my self, nature,my breath. I was amazed that I love it/
    I recommend you try for one week no music…give it a chance,it can change running into a lifechanging experience (I would have never believed it myself!!)

  4. Been listening to Michael Franti and Spearhead for a while…Saw him in Montreal when he opened for John Mayer. All of his many CDs will inspire more than just running!

    I, on the other hand, do not need music to run. I used to, but not anymore. I have found that there is music in my soul and I do write the best songs when i am pounding the dirt! Like a previous commentor said, I am more in tune with my surroundings and more aware of myself. When I can hear the breeze in the grasses and leaves, I AM the WIND. There certainly is a connection of thankfulness when I cycle or run, hard to explain.

    Try it!

  5. I Made It – Kevin Rudolf

    I seriously listen to this song EVERY morning when I’m getting ready for work. Makes me feel really good about where I am, RIGHT NOW.

  6. Oh I agree, I can’t run w/o music to help me occupy my mind. Otherwise I spend all my time focused on how tired I am, or how much my foot hurts, or whatever…

    Ob La Di by the Beatles is one of the favorites on my running list

Leave a Reply

