Treating Myself Well

* This is another post in direct response to my new “Attitude Makeover”. There’s going to be lots more posts dedicated to this in the future, as I dedicate myself to seeing the positive and making happiness a permanent part of my life, rather than just indulging in brief glimpses of it.*

* * * * *

I am one of those people who tends to neglect herself. I often forget to feed my body well, to manage my stress appropriately, to do those things that I know are good for me – body, mind and soul. I tend to get distracted, waste time and procrastinate. My life is set up with lots of distractions. I mean, as great as blogging, Twitter and Facebook are, they have the potential to be huge time wasters, particularly for me. I can’t tell you how many evenings have been spent in front of the computer, tweeting and facebooking and blogging. Housework is also another big distraction for me. It’s so easy to get caught up in the mire of the never-ending task of cleaning, dishes and laundry. It seems like no matter how much I accomplish, I’m never ever finished.

I realized that for my own peace of mind, I need to start taking better care of myself. This means actively doing those things that I know will make me feel better in all areas of myself – body, mind and soul – and avoiding those time wasters and energy suckers.

I have begun to take some active steps toward better self-care. I have registered for a summer long yoga class. I am trying out hot yoga – which has been giving me some great results. At work, on my lunch breaks, I am getting out of the office and going for long power-walks. I have, for the last couple of months, been making efforts toward eating better.

Last night was another good example. The girls were with their dad for the night. I was checking messages on the computer and I felt myself starting to get sucked into the world of Twitter. I knew that I didn’t want to spend the evening at the computer. I consciously stopped myself, ran a nice hot bubble bath (something I haven’t done in a very long time) and then curled up in bed early with my book – also something I haven’t done in a long time. I phoned CBG nice and early, had a good long chat with him, and then turned out my light and went to sleep. Nice and early. Not from boredom, not because I was avoiding what I was feeling…but simply because I knew that today was going to be an extremely busy (and long!) day at work, and I wanted to be well-rested for it.

I woke up this morning feeling well-rested and content. I even managed a little bit of yoga for good measure.

It’s amazing what a huge difference a little self-care can do. I’ve known for a long time that this needs to be something that I pay attention to. And now it’s my time to actually start doing it.

What are YOU going to do for yourself today?

7 Responses

  1. Go girl! I’m loving this. Now… if only we could all remember that we should do this…

    I’m trying to stay present with my girls. When I’m with them, my head is stuck in the phone or computer too. So, I’m doing my damnedest to sit and talk to them and look them in the eyes when I’m doing it.

    It means a lot to me AND them.

    Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. I can really relate to this. I think that any working mom can. It’s a great example that I should follow!

  3. Great job. It’s amazing what a good night’s sleep and some exercise can do for you.

    I actually made myself a list yesterday of things that I am doing for myself today, and so far, I’m sticking with it. I took a few minutes for mindfulness meditation this morning, using a guided CD. And I’m having lunch a little later with an old friend.

    Why is it so much easier to take care of our children than ourselves?

  4. Awesome. Kudos to you for putting yourself first now and then – as women, I think we all immediately feel a sense of guilt for doing anything even remotely for ourselves (especially for single moms like yourself – my mom was one too and she always had a hard time putting herself first, in fact she never really did until very recently). As for what I’m doing for me? I’m taking a personal day from work tomorrow to recharge, I’m totally burnt out which is impacting my work but also my personal life which is no good, no good at all.

  5. I want to get off my computer at night too!

    Let’s “take back the night”!

    Goodbye email, facebook, twitter,site hopping…
    hello to REAL LIFE off the screen-
    I am hoping yoga, reading,walking ,cooking,winedrinking!,socializing?,
    anything that doesn’t involve a screen-laptop or tv!

    Let’s all have a SCREEN DETOX for a month?!!!!

  6. […] As much of an extrovert as I am, I still very much need lots of time to myself. It’s definitely one of the perks of both having a shared custody arrangement AND being in a long distance relationship. I have plenty of opportunities to recharge my batteries and do things just for me. It’s something that I plan to focus on more in the next little while: Nourishing my mind and my soul. […]

Leave a Reply

