Namaste

Yesterday I tried my very first hot yoga class.

It was an incredible experience. It was much more intense – physically, mentally and emotionally than I thought it would be. It’s been a particularly difficult week for me, mentally and emotionally, and so this yoga class came at exactly the right time. It was good to be able to empty my mind (mostly), focus on my physical self and just sweat away all the “bad stuff” I’d been carrying around in my body. I visualized all the negativity I’ve allowed to build up in the past week just pour out of my body with all the sweat. With each droplet that dripped off my body, I felt at least a pound lighter, spiritually.

At the end of the class when I was stretched out on my mat, my body humming from the physical exertion of the last hour, I found myself being filled with an overwhelming sense of peace and optimism about life…the future…myself. I felt, without a shadow of a doubt, that no matter what life throws at me, I will indeed, be okay.

None of us know what the future holds. For those of us in long distance relationships, particularly in the case of CBG and I, the reality of our unknown future is constantly being rubbed in our faces. The truth is that our future is no more unknown than anyone else’s. Ask me five years ago what I thought the summer of 2010 might look like for me, and I would have painted a much different picture than the one that actually exists today.That’s how life goes. We just never know what might happen…which emphasizes even more the importance of enjoying and appreciating today.

And that’s exactly what I plan on doing. ‘Cuz nothing is guaranteed….but you know what? I will be okay no matter what life brings. It may take time…and it make take a lot of hard work…but today I am feeling ready for it.

2 Responses

  1. Was that Moksha yoga?-if so I am a huge fan but can’t afford it.The good news is every studio seems to have 2 Karma classes a week for $5 and of course the first week is only $20(but they are so smart-that first week gets you so addicted!)

    So the good news is that it is so cathartic and restorative ,the bad news is financial 😉

  2. Love it. Yoga makes me happy too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

