Happy Father’s Day

Yesterday I worked on a post about my own dad for Father’s Day. He’s been gone almost 22 years now. Instead of posting that, I realized that I have other, far more important things to say this morning.

* * * * *

Happy Father’s Day, CBG.

You’re struggling now, with wanting to feel like a good dad. Please know that you are a good dad. It’s one of the things that I love about you…the fact that your children are so important to you…just as they should be. Yes, this love that you have for them presents you and I with certain challenges and obstacles that aren’t faced by a whole lot of other couples.  But please know that this love you have for them makes our love even more special. I couldn’t love a man who would toss his relationship with his children aside to be with me. I just don’t roll that way.

Part of being a good parent is finding balance between your children’s happiness and your own happiness. It’s not selfish or misguided to want to be happy, too. Hell, if I sacrificed my happiness for that of my girls then I’d still be in an unhappy marriage, now wouldn’t I? Is that what you would want for me? Instead, I chose to seek balance. Maybe my girls aren’t getting exactly what they’d want right now (an intact family). Instead they get a mommy (and a daddy) who are finding happiness on their own and therefore being better parents to them.

You know that what I want for you more than anything is for you to be happy, and to be the man that you want to be. I believe that both of those things are well within reach for you. It’s just going to take some hard work. It’s going to mean facing an unknown future. But if that’s the path that you choose to take, know that I will be by your side, in your corner, every step of the way.

Happy Father’s Day. Enjoy your day with your son.You are a good dad and he loves you so very, very much.

2 Responses

  1. Aw, I love this so much. Well said…and I’m with you on the being a good dad thing vs. spending time with you, that’s when you know you’ve found an amazing man. Good for you guys!!

  2. Your girls might not be getting what they want now but when they are older they will be grateful for parents that choose happiness. And CBG is an awesome dad.

Leave a Reply

