The Perfect Evening

Last night ended up being one of those “perfect evenings” with my girls.

We decided, a while back to make Monday nights “technology-free nights”. That means no computer for me, no computer games or videos for them. It’s been working out rather well.

Last night, the three of us were completely tuned into each other. I whipped up a quick dinner while they played around. They helped me do laundry and tidy up after dinner. We spent time working on a package to mail to CBG’s daughter, Rugrat. I even got the apartment cleaned up. We found time to sit and put together a huge floor puzzle, laughing and talking and joking and being silly and just plain having fun. I even managed a bedtime story, and tucked my two little lovelies into bed with any problems or complaints.

I collapsed into bed feeling, for the first time in a long time, like I had actually done the best that I could possibly imagine with my girls on that particular night. Sure, the only way it could have been better would have been if I’d been the one to pick them up at school and we’d spent the afternoon baking cookies and having tea parties, but at this point I’ll be grateful for what I do have, rather than wishing for what I don’t.

I ended the evening with a very real sense of the kind of effort is required to leave me feeling like I’m connected to my girls with all of the other distractions and things that need to get done in my life. It’s going to require a lot from me. But they’re the most important thing in my life. They are very much worth it.

The problem? After the wonderful evening spent with my girls, and after doing what was required of me to feel on top of my life here, I found myself too pooped out for my nightly phonecall to CBG. I sent him a short “goodnight” email, and almost immediately passed out.

Maybe it wasn’t such the perfect evening after all.

Then again, maybe it was.

8 Responses

  1. I love the idea of a non-technology night. I need one of those once in awhile. sounds blissful, good way to regroup too.

  2. Non-technology night, huh? I bet my daughters would love that…

    And hey, we can only spread ourselves so thin, ya know?

  3. This sounds awesome. These are the days that will shape your girls’ lives.

    Go, Mama Sunshine!

  4. I love it! I think it was a perfect evening… I would love a “no-technology year” just to get people able to communicate face to face again…

  5. Your smile is showing 🙂
    I love to read about you & the girls….so much love and joy..You go girl!
    #assslap

  6. I totally need to do this with my girls too.

    We all get “plugged in” and sometimes we forget to spend time together!

    It sounds like your evening was pretty fantastic!

  7. I agree. I should implement a technology-free night as well. Sometimes I’m so focused on the moment I get home from work being the “end of my day,” that I forget that I still have another few hours left. Once a week, it would be nice to make the most of my time with Monkeyface and remember that it’s just the end of the *work* day.

  8. […] Posted on June 9, 2010 by mommasunshine Yesterday ended up being a rough morning. After our terrific night before, it was an even bigger […]

Leave a Reply

