Lonely Bed

I got in on the late late bus last night. I didn’t walk through my door until about midnight-ish, exhausted.

Despite being exhausted, I had difficulty sleeping. My bed is always lonely and feels far too big after we’ve spent a weekend together.

The weekend was, as always, wonderful. We went to the Farmer’s Market. We cooked dinner together. We watched movies, we visited CBG’s parents. We met my new great niece (her parents live in the same city as CBG). We went to a beautiful local park that I haven’t been to since I was about 15. Monday we spent the day with Ankle Biter. We even managed to squeeze in a nap over the weekend.

It was one of those great weekend where we did lots, but still managed to get lots of quiet, relaxing “us time”.

The goodbye was tough, as it always is.  Thankfully, it wasn’t as tough this time for either one of us as it was during our last goodbye.  I guess it will go that some goodbyes are just going to be more difficult than others. I can be okay with that.

The thing is – he is worth it. He is worth every difficult goodbye. He is worth every lonely night that I crawl into bed alone. He is worth every bit of sadness I feel. He is worth every tear. I know that before all is said and done, there will be more lonely nights, more sadness, more tears. But in the end, as long as he is there, then I will do it for as long as I need to.

And so, today, I put my head down and power through the day. I will allow the sadness but I refuse to wallow in it.

Only 10 more sleeps until he’s here again.

4 Responses

  1. 10 more sleeps for me too. I just noticed that. 🙂

    He is worth all the lonely nights, sadness and tears and also worth all those happy moments, wonderful snuggles and smiles. 🙂

    You’re doing just fine.

    xxoo

  2. 10 more sleeps, not so long anymore 🙂

  3. I love what you wrote and I definitely agree. I’m going through the same thing because he is worth it. Best of luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

