…just like a “regular couple”

CBG and I have been invited to a wedding later this summer.

We’re both kind of excited about it.

We don’t often get glimpses of being “a normal couple”. We often miss out on important things because we are in different cities. I couldn’t be there for him when Ankle Biter was in the hospital. He misses out on events here with me and my girls. We’ve come to accept that there are going to be a lot of things that we’ll miss out on, being a long-distance couple. It’s just the nature of the beast. We don’t spend a lot of time moaning over what we miss out on – instead, we choose to focus on the goodness that we do get to experience.

But let’s be honest – missing out on things does suck. So when something comes along that we can do together as a “normal” couple, and just forget, if even just for a few hours that we’re not together all the time, then we jump at the chance.

I’m still not 100% sure if I’m able to make it (it’s 2 months away and is going to require the co-operation of my ex for some schedule adjustments) but I’m going to do my best to make sure that I can be there. It feels like an important thing, even though I barely know CBG’s coworker who is getting married.

As much as I love our relationship for what it is, it’s good to sometimes feel like “a regular couple”. It’s just a small taste of what the future holds in store for us. It feels so very promising.

5 Responses

  1. That’s awesome, I bet you two will have a great time. And I can imagine you crave wanting to be a normal couple that lives down the street from each other and don’t get a chance to feel that way too often. I know even when I was just dating someone in a different state, it was frustrating not to be able to just “drop by” for coffee or something, little things add up sometimes. But you make the best of it!

  2. I agree with you 100%!! What fun!!

    Rascal and I will be attending our high school reunion together next month. We can’t WAIT! Besides, many of our classmates are excited that we’re together. It’ll be fun to show “us” off! Hee hee!

  3. I guess, more importantly to *me*, is that you ARE a couple. Because you love each other so much.

    *Hugs*

  4. that’s so cool… you two will have fun I’m sure.

    Getting to feel that connection is so important when you can’t be together all the time.

Leave a Reply

