A Sex and the City Moment…

The other night when I hung out with my girlfriend, I found myself right in the middle of a “Sex and the City” episode before I quite knew what was happening.

We’d stopped by the liquor store for some wine, then headed over to the grocery store to pick up some dinner for us to take back to her place.

She’s also a single mom, and at my encouragement, started online dating recently. She’s been having…..*ahem*…..fun. Lots of it, in fact.

We found ourselves wandering through the grocery store talking about sex, and soon found ourselves at the checkout. I was urging her to make sure that she had condoms on hand (one recent encounter ended unsatisfactorily because her date had forgotten to bring some). The conversation went something like this:

Her:   “No way! It’s not my job to buy condoms, it’s his. If he doesn’t bring one, he doesn’t get any, that’s my rule.”

Me:    “You know what? I’ve still got some at home that aren’t being used. I’ll give them to you. Someone might as well get some use out of them.”

Her:  “What! You’re not using condoms?!”

Me:  “God no. ”

Her:  “Really?”  [pause] “Oh, that’s right….you’re only sleeping with one person.”

We both then erupted into a fit of evil giggles.

I shudder to think what was going through the little 20-something cashier’s mind as we carried on this conversation through the checkout.

Ah well, at least she’ll have a tale to entertain her friends with later.

6 Responses

  1. It is sometimes so nice to have A Sex and the City moment with one’s girlfriend. Makes one feel as an individual.

  2. Haha, that cashier was probably thinking this ladies are insane.

  3. Yep, sounds like a SITC moment to me. Can’t wait to see the movie. 🙂

  4. That’s hilarious!

    I wish I could go see the new movie with all of my bloggy girlfriends!!

  5. LOL, I would never be brave enough to online date, much less more than one person at a time!

    No SITC moments for me… I’m a one man kinda girl I think.

  6. LOL that cracks me up!

Leave a Reply

