Our Second “First Anniversary”

This weekend marks one year since CBG and I got back together after our 3 month breakup.

I can’t believe it’s been an entire year.

It has been both the most challenging and most joyful year of my entire life. CBG and I have faced challenges both on our own, and as a couple. Even now, a whole year later, I feel like we’ve only just begun. We have so many things still to learn about each other and about the people we want to be when we’re together. We are works in progress – still growing. I know, too, that we still have so much joy left to find. Every weekend visit together results in our love growing even stronger.

It’s not always easy, this long distance thing. But when I’m feeling focused and positive (which is far, far more than I used to) I know that it’s worth it…and I know that if we’ve done it this long, then we can keep hanging on for as long as we need to. It’s that important.

It’s such a wonderful feeling to have found a partner who feels like a perfect complement to me. He is my best friend, my idea partner, and my perfect lover. Sure, we screw it up sometimes. But love and our mutual belief that we will make this work, carries us through.

I’m still so amazed sometimes that we have found one another. It just doesn’t seem possible. And then, to have found each other again, after both of us walking away with the belief that it just wasn’t meant to be…well, that truly feels miraculous.

I am the luckiest woman in the world.

3 Responses

  1. Hee. I say that last line a lot myself.

    Yay!

  2. It’s so nice to see a happy couple who work through their problems in a loving / healthy way. It gives me hope that BLT and I can make it too.

    Sometimes we really do get second chances.

Leave a Reply

