Finding My Way

As some of what I wrote last week said, this new job kind of threw me for a bit of a loop.

I allowed the first couple of days to allow me to feel disorganized, overwhelmed, inadequate and completely out of my element. I allowed this new job to shake me to my very core.

I’ve been thinking about this a lot. Well, as much as I can in between trying to learn a new job, organizing my home life, planning a birthday party, making to-do lists…….you get the idea.

I’m still figuring a lot of things out. I’m still learning who I am as opposed to who I was. I am still deciding what my priorities and values are.  Being thrust into a new work environment, not only a new job with new and scary responsibilities, but also a new and radically different office culture than any other I’ve ever experienced. Add to that the fact that this job, so far, excites and inspires me more than any job I’ve ever had. In some ways it feels like a dream. A very terrifying, yet amazing dream.

All of this has shaken me because really, I don’t have a solid sense of who Sunshine is yet.

The thing is…that’s okay. I’ve been through a lot of changes in my life in the last couple of years and the changes aren’t over yet. Right now I’m ass-deep in yet another transition period. Who I am is still being shaped and moulded. And guess what? This calls for yet another healthy dose of strength, patience and faith. I keep getting slapped in the face by The Universe with those particular lessons.

I get ya, Universe. I hear you. More strength, patience and faith. Whenever I remember to apply those things to my life, I am always so much happier and at peace with everything. So I will do that here, as well. Today when I walk into work, I will remember to be patient with myself…with the learning process and my abilities. I will have faith that I am here for a reason and that I will be able to deliver. And I will show strength in the face of being WAY outside my comfort zone.

…and all will be okay. That much, I do know.

3 Responses

  1. Love it. I’m very proud of you that you’re with an organization you feel so passionate about. That will surely play into your new role and new “Sunshine” as well.

    🙂

  2. great post – isn’t it funny how change can be such a huge catalyst for growth? I find that too, every day, I feel I learn something new. And, btw, I LOVE the term “ass deep” – nice. May need to borrow 😉

  3. I think being outside your comfort zone is a good thing, it’s the only way to really grow and push yourself.

    Good for you for being brave and open. I’m afraid I’m neither brave, nor open these days.

    I need to work on that more, I’m just not sure where to start! LOL!!

Leave a Reply

