Strength, Patience and Faith

I have learned so many things in the last two years of my life.

The most important thing that I have learned is how strong I really am. That one lesson has been worth every hardship that I have faced and every difficulty that I will encounter in the future.

Another important thing that I have learned is that we should always, always, always have faith. Because we have no way of knowing what the future holds for us. Quite often the things that are in store are bigger than we can wrap our tiny human brains around.

On Saturday, CBG and I are taking a day long road trip. One of the cities we’re visiting is one that we both lived in at one point in the past. I don’t remember when we first had the conversation that led to the realization that not only did we live in the same city at the same time, but in the same neighbourhood. Twice.

The possibilities for wondering are endless. Did our paths ever cross? It’s a relatively small city, after all. And hell, his girlfriend at the time and I even worked at the same shopping mall. What are the odds that at some point during that time we were in the same place at the same time?

Maybe we passed each other on the street.

Maybe we shopped at the same grocery store.

Perhaps we waited in a line together at the movie theatre.

Or were in the same coffee shop together.

It gives me an odd feeling to consider the possibilities. If I apply that to my life right now, it’s possible that the woman next to me on the bus last night could one day end up changing my life.

It’s terrifying and thrilling at the same time.

Life is a mystery. None of us knows what the future holds. But I have faith…which is not always something that I’ve had. Faith that things will all work out as they’re supposed to, when they’re supposed to.  Had CBG and I met all those years ago, we wouldn’t be where we are today. We were different people then. We both needed time to grow and change and develop and become the people that we are today.

I am learning that two of the most valuable traits to possess are faith and patience. Faith that things will work out and the patience it takes to wait for it. Because if you have those two things, then you truly have the whole world at your feet.

The possibilities are endless.

10 Responses

  1. thanks for dropping by I am going to add you to my list as well great blog =)

  2. Wow, that is weird about you two being in the same city at the same time.

    Hope you have a great weekend together!

  3. I’m struggling with both faith and patience these days. I told my BLT he needs to make a move and he says I have to be patient.

    I wish I was full of both, that I had a sense of calm assurance that faith and patience give you – but I just don’t.

  4. Wow, that is crazy that you crossed paths twice before now….but you are right, you probably would NOT be together, obviously, if you had. God works in mysterious ways, I firmly believe it!! Great post, as always.

  5. I am not a deep person by any means, but I truly believe that everything happens for a reason. While we may never know the answer to some of those daunting questions, I believe we end up where we are supposed to…I often think about decisions I have made before and wonder if things would be different today. I like to think they wouldn’t be too different…that no matter the choices we make, we end up where we are meant to be!
    Now…I need a nap…that took a lot out of me!
    ;P

  6. my parents who have been married for over 44 years have traced their ‘roots’ and in their childhoods they lived near eachother!! So cool…faith is certainly the key. Thank you for stopping by my blog and sharing what you did!!

  7. Faith is the key.

  8. 🙂 It’s cool when we discover things like that…how paths have crossed when completely unknown until later.

    I agree–faith and patience are two of the most important factors in life. And also two of the hardest to cling to.

  9. […] The Big Meet Posted on April 6, 2010 by mommasunshine One of the highlights of this past weekend for CBG and I was being able to meet up with one of our Twitter friends. I don’t remember exactly when or how I met qt_pie1602 on Twitter. One of the things that drew me to her was the fact that for 7 years I lived in the city that she lives in now. The same city that CBG and I lived in at the same time, in fact. […]

  10. […] I am is still being shaped and moulded. And guess what? This calls for yet another healthy dose of strength, patience and faith. I keep getting slapped in the face by The Universe with those particular […]

Leave a Reply

