Forward Momentum

Lately life has had a very positive forward momentum for me. I feel as though, for the first time in about three years, I am moving in a positive direction. It’s been a long time coming and I am very much enjoying things as they unfold.

It’s not just with me personally, either. This positive forward momentum is evident in my relationship with CBG as well. We’ve faced a few hard things in the last couple of months, but have emerged all the stronger for it. We have begun building our very own family feeling and things are falling into place.

This past Friday was perfect evidence of all that. My girls were on March Break and I needed to find care for them for the final Friday of the break. Several weeks earlier, I’d asked CBG since he was going in be in town that day, if he would be willing to do it.

He responded with an unhestitating “Sure!”

That in itself, is progress. The “first time around” with the two of us, one of the issues that we encountered was finding a level of comfortability between CBG and my girls. He wasn’t as willing to open himself up emotionally to them as I would have wanted. He struggled with trying to figure out what his role with them should be and I struggled with figuring out what I needed him to be for my girls.

In the past year we’ve both figured things out. I realized that my girls didn’t need a “replacement dad” (since they have a very involved and loving father), but what they DID need was a friend, another positive male influence in their lives.  CBG came to see that having more love in his life was a good thing, and that loving my girls wasn’t being disloyal to his own children.

CBG and the girls spent most of the day alone together on Friday. I was able to leave work early to allow the four of us to have the afternoon together, which was great. My girls loved having “alone time” with CBG, a chance to have his undivided attention for a few hours, without Mommy around to steal the spotlight. The girls are so open and free with their love and affection, and their relationship with CBG is no different. And after the year that he and I have had together, figuring out so many things and finding our way together, seeing him enjoying my girls and having so much fun with them brings me a happiness that I once wondered if I would ever feel.

But I’m so grateful that I do.

Wheeeeeeeeeeee!! A day without Mom!!!

10 Responses

  1. I’m so glad it went well. Awesome to hear. 🙂

  2. Sometimes a second chance is worth every bit of effort. Sounds like this one definitely has been 🙂

  3. Thanks for making me smile — BIG. Ah, I love that photo!!!

  4. Omg, that pic is SO cute! And it says it all, doesn’t it?

  5. That picture is flipping HIGH-larious.

  6. Yep, that picture is fantastic! I love it!

    So much wonderfulness. Onward and upward!

  7. You sound SO happy these days. The happiness comes through in your writing. And the pic is totally awesome.

  8. I am so glad that their day alone rocked.

Leave a Reply

