I like me better when I’m with you

The last weekend that CBG and I were together, we were snuggled in bed, talking and these words popped out of my mouth:

“You know…I like me a whole lot better when I’m with you.”

A year ago, words like those would have terrified me. They would have felt unhealthy and codependent. Today, though, it’s a whole lot different.

When CBG and I are together, magic happens. I’m able to look on the bright side. I feel accepted and loved unconditionally. I feel buoyant – lighter than air. He brings out the best in me simply by being himself…which is exactly how it should be.

I look at this man and see someone who believes in me in a way that no one ever has before. His belief is unwavering. He doesn’t try to use that belief to build me up or keep me afloat – it is simply there. And the fact that this belief is given so openly and unconditionally is exactly what makes it so freeing. No codependence. No pressure. No expectations. Nothing unhealthy.  And so I find myself in a healthy relationship and wise enough to be able to appreciate it.

I am able to be me – and most of all, I LIKE the person that I am. And that, my friends, is worth more than anything else in this world.

8 Responses

  1. Isn’t that just the most awesome feeling in the whole world? I got chills reading this, in a good way. And now I’m gonna start my day with a huge ass smile too. 🙂

  2. I feel that way with Mr K, and it has given me some worry. But maybe you’re right. Maybe it’s love, not codependence. lol

    • I think there’s a difference. I guess I would be concerned if I didn’t like myself at all when we weren’t together, but that’s not the case. I guess what it is, is that I really like those traits that he just naturally brings out in me.

  3. Agreed! AGREED!

    Amen to that girlfriend.

  4. Truly the sign of a relationship that is just destined. I love it.

  5. I am so happy for you.

  6. Whenever I read your words I feel like I could have written them. I recently told my best friend that one of the reasons I got divorced was that I had stopped likeing the person I was when I was with him.

    And one of the reasons it feels so good to be with my BLT is that I love the person I am in his eyes. I love the way I feel, I love that I feel like he sees the real me and accepts it, embraces all the good and the bad and just allows me to be that person, and I like that person. I’m slowly finding out that I really like me. I’m a pretty great woman if I’m allowed to be my natural and true self.

    I’m so happy for you and CBG, it’s such a beautiful and rare thing that you’ve found in each other. Enjoy it… relish it… revel in it and hold on tight.

  7. Awwwh this was such a great post! I’ve really enjoyed following the two of you along on this journey of love…it’s my reminder that TRUE LOVE does still exist today and that there are still good men left out there! I love how transparent and real the two of you have been about your relationship whether it’s the good or something you’re struggling with. When I look at pics of the 2 of you it just shows in both of your smiles & eyes how much you love one another! I’m so happy for you guys!

Leave a Reply

