The Perfect Day

Yesterday was one of those days that I just feel the need to document…so I can look back on it when I run into some more tough stuff. It was the kind of day when everything felt right with the world.

I woke up early – 5:30 to be exact – before the alarm. The girls were with their dad and so I knew that it was the perfect opportunity for an early morning run. I hit the streets before the sun came up and got to see the sunrise as I was out there. It was the perfect morning run.

When I arrived home, my “Good Morning Beautiful” email was waiting for me, which filled me to overflowing with love and happiness. It’s those little things that mean so much to me in our relationship.

I was ready for work early and walked to work with my iPod, the sun shining, the air feeling definitely spring-like. I smiled and enjoyed my music and the sights and sounds around me. I thought about the past weekend with CBG and I smiled even more.

It ended up being a productive day at work. I’m working on a particularly arduous project right now, and while mind-numbing and rather monotonous, what I’m doing is valued and a rather important project to the company in the grand scheme of things. It feels good to be a part of something, even if it’s something that I don’t particularly believe strongly in myself.

I got an email yesterday from an old friend of mine. We don’t communicate often, just out of both being busy and wrapped up in our own lives. She lives a couple of provinces away and we haven’t seen each other in about six years or so. It was good hearing from her, especially finding out that her life has dramatically improved in the last little while and it would seem that there are exciting things on the horizon for her.

CBG and I exchanged a few emails during the day. We’re planning an overnight adventure next month if all goes well and we’re both pretty excited about it. Although…to be honest… we somehow manage to turn even the smallest things into an adventure.

The work day passed pretty quickly, all things considered, which is always a good thing. I walked home in the gorgeous spring-like weather, smiling the whole way.

Once home, I cooked a bite of dinner and tidied up while waiting for the girls to arrive. We had a fantastic evening together – doing homework, reading, relaxing. We did yoga together. I even found time to tidy up and get everything ready for today – lunches made, clothes laid out, the whole nine yards.

I also took the time to apply for what may very well be my dream job. It’s just a temporary contract, six months, but if all pans out, I will be one happy camper. I don’t want to talk about it too much yet, but any good vibes you’ve got to send me, I would really appreciate them. This job would be so absolutely perfect for me for so many reasons.

It was simply one of those days when absolutely everything went right. It’s a day when, at the end of it, I was able to look back and feel happy about everything that I accomplished. A day that I want to remember for a long time to come.

Just another day in a string of many more to come.

4 Responses

  1. So glad to hear about your wonderful day, heres to many more.

  2. Even the tone of this post was beautiful and relaxing. I love days like that…even when the closest I get to them is reading about someone else’s!

  3. Love it! Sounds like a beautiful day! Oh and sending perfect job vibes too!

  4. I’m raising my glass to you, and wishing you many many more days such as this one.

Leave a Reply

