Saying Goodbye to Some Old Words

Last night I scurried home from work. I was focused, feeling inspired. I knew what I had to do.

Within a few moments I was seated at my computer. I knew where the words were that I needed to get rid of. I’ve had that certain folder in my email inbox for a while now. All those words were saved up. Words that have been weighing me down for a long time now. Old emails from people who’d had no right to say the things that they did. People who didn’t really consider the weight of their words when they spewed them out. Words that have been dragging me down since then. Words that, every now again I would pull out and re-read, torturing myself, trying to make those words make sense.

Unceremoniously, and without reading through them again, I deleted them — all.

I said goodbye to those old, hurtful words. They have no power over me anymore.

I immediately thought of the affirmation from Wayne Dyer that I’d read online this morning:

My destiny is mine to control.

When you acquire enough inner peace and feel really positive about yourself, it’s almost impossible for you to be controlled and manipulated by anybody else.

I’m no longer allowing those old words to manipulate me. I refuse to allow the judgments of others to control my thoughts and my actions. I’m letting go. Deleting those emails, those worthless words, was another step to getting there.

I don’t need those words any more than I need those people.

Goodbye. It’s my time now….and I’m going to make the most of it.

7 Responses

  1. Sunshine, you sound like you are making it up that hill! Keep climbing. Best, P

  2. Awesome…now I highly recommend blasting the song FREEDOM sung by Aretha Franklin and doing a happy dance around your kitchen…. oh yeah!

  3. Ooops, or was that FREEDOM sung by George Michaels….hmmm maybe so!

  4. Good! For! You!

    I admire the fact that you did this without pausing to re-read those words one last time. That, for me, would be the stopping point. I’d maybe, oh, not delete that one just yet. Or that one. Or this other one.

    You did it right. You did the right thing.

    You rule.

  5. Love it! LOVE this.

  6. You go girl, take control of it all.

  7. i do the same thing, hold onto old hurts and careless words. obsess and worry over them for years. good for you. this is inspiring to me.

Leave a Reply

