Weak Knees

I will never, never forget the first time CBG kissed me.

It was our first date. We’d been talking online for a couple of weeks when we decided that he would come to my city on a Saturday so we could spend the day together.

It turned out to be an epic day-long adventure, full of many memorable moments. There are lots of things that I will always remember about that day. One of the most important ones was the instant feeling of comfortability between the two of us. There were no awkward, uncomfortable moments. Of course, we’d been talking pretty much every night online leading up to that day, so we had a pretty good idea that we “clicked”. Still, it was good to find out that it wasn’t just an online thing.

We’d already discussed how important kissing is….how you can tell a lot about a person, and a lot about your chemistry with them, from the way that a person kisses. I knew that it was going to happen at some point during the day, but had no idea when.

Our first stop that day was the Farmer’s Market, one of my favourite places to go on the weekend in my city. We wandered around, holding hands…talking…laughing…feeling way more comfortable than two people on a first date should feel. At one point, on our way from one section of the market to another, I stopped (I believe to say something to him, I can’t remember anymore) and turned around to look at him.

That’s when it happened. In the middle of a crowded farmer’s market, people milling about. I have absolutely no recollection of how many people may have walked by. I have no idea how long we stood there, his lips against mine. It was one of those classic, cheesy moments when time stands still, and nothing else in this whole world matters.

And in that instant, I knew. I knew that there was “something” about this man…and about this man and I together. I had no idea what it was or where it would take us, but I knew, that above all else, I wanted more. The way my knees wobbled told me that much.

Y’know what? It’s more than a year later, and still, particularly on our nights back together when we’ve been apart for two weeks, when his lips close over mine, I find myself with that same feeling…heart pounding, breathless, knees wobbling…and I know. All over again I know it, almost like I’m realizing it for the first time.

He’s the one.

7 Responses

  1. For the record, we were walking down the stairs (up by the coffee place) and I stopped you, turned you around, and pulled you aside to kiss you. I just couldn’t take it anymore. It was on the stairs by the bank machine.

    I remember it vividly.

  2. OK, that’s just damn cute.

    Love first kisses!

  3. You are very blessed to have made such a connection!

  4. that is awesome. I hope to capture that someday as well, hopefully sooner, rather than later, but I love that it still feels fresh in your mind a year later!

  5. Beautiful. Just…beautiful.

Leave a Reply

