Perception

It’s been an interesting couple of days for me. . . I’ve been mulling lots over.

I’ve come to realize that sometimes others’ perceptions of us don’t always resemble the reality of who we are. A remark in the comments section of a recent post of CBG’s caused me to wonder (and worry about!) how sometimes my readers might see me. Then yesterday, a friend of mine remarked something about CBG (whom she’s never met in person) and I was surprised to see that this was how she viewed him – because it doesn’t resemble his true self at all.

It made me realize that it’s a rare thing to have a clear, honest view of another person. It’s too easy to attach our own “stuff” to others – based on our pasts, on who we are, on the things that we value. We tend to put our own spin on what we see, hear, and read.

I wondered, briefly, about my responsibility as a blogger. Is it my responsibility to ensure that my readers have a clear vision of who I truly am? But then the enormity of that task sunk in. Everyone comes from different backgrounds. Everyone has their own life experiences. Everyone has their own issues and motivations. Trying to appease everyone is an impossible task.

And so, all I can do is keep blogging. I will continue writing about the things that are on my mind, the things that are happening in my life. Some people will relate. Some people will understand me. Some people will read my words and know who I am through them. Other people, either through accident or design, will get a completely different view of who I am. I can’t be responsible for that.

Those who know and love me, know…and that’s really all that matters.

8 Responses

  1. “Those who know and love me, know…and that’s really all that matters.”

    Well said, Sunshine.

  2. I struggle with this too – perception based on what I write about and how I write about it. This has inspired my next post, stay tuned 😉

  3. […] Doing my daily sweep of my favorite blogs this morning, I came across Momma Sunshine’s post on perception. It was as if she took the words straight from my […]

  4. rock on, sweet lady!!!

  5. we all struggle.. different days.. different themes. today was yours.. tomorrow’s mine will be whatever.. but I’m certain it’ll be something. crap.

    but, cheers. and hugs.

  6. Yep, I’ve blogged about this a few times myself!

    So true. Keep doing what you’re doing. Like I said on CBG’s blog, those of us that have been reading for a while, have a clearer picture than most.

    But we still don’t know everything.

    Hang in there.

    XXOO

  7. I saw that comment on CBG’s blog and it hit me like, this person has never really read Sunshines blog or that would not have been said.
    People that read you, get you. You are very honest and hard to misinterpret I think. I could not have disagreed with that persons assessment any less than I did.
    I think a lot of people judge by reading one post instead of all of the past blogs that make up a person.
    So, I get you/it!

    • I fully admit to having my insecure and needy moments – who doesn’t, right? But I would like to think that’s not the only thing about me that shines through in what I write.

      It’s good to know that there are people out there who “get” me.

Leave a Reply

