A little bit “metro”

So it’s time that I “outed” CBG.

When we first got together, I noticed that there were things about him that were different than any of the other men that I’d dated. Like the fact that he owns at least 8 pairs of shoes. And his impeccable grooming habits.

It took a few months for it to dawn on me. CBG is “a little bit metro”.

I say “a little bit” because he doesn’t have all the qualities of your typical metrosexual male. For instance, he doesn’t know anything about wine, or carry a man-purse and he’s never had a manicure (though he admits that he’d consider having one done).Β  At first the whole idea of being coupled with a metrosexual was a little foreign to me (most of the men I’ve been with in the past more closely resemble cavemen than they do gay men), but now that CBG and I have been together for a while, I’ve come to embrace all of the many positive qualities of dating a metro man.

They never, ever, ever smell bad. ‘Nuff said.

The gossiping. CBG loves a great tidbit of gossip, about anyone from fellow bloggers to celebrities to people we know “in real life”. I never knew that gossiping with my man could be so much fun.

They can appreciate a hot pair of shoes. I don’t think I’ve ever had one of my “neanderthal men” ever notice what shoes I was wearing, let alone compliment me on them, and even make suggestions as to what might look good on me.

They never fail to notice when their woman is lookin’ good. He pays me more compliments than any guy I’ve ever known. He even notices subtleties of colour and style and comments on them.

Seriously – they NEVER smell bad. I keep waiting for it, but it hasn’t happened yet….not even a little bit.

If you happen to run out of moisturizer, you can always borrow theirs. heh.IMG_2922

You never have to have the conversation, “I wish you’d put on something at least a little nice when we go out.” In fact, they LOVE having an excuse to look good. And they do it very, very well.

I could definitely get used to this.

Love you, baby!!!! πŸ˜€

10 Responses

  1. Oh! This is cool! Like a dream :)))

  2. Oh, there’s nothing better than a guy who smells good!

    A male friend of mine got some great advice from his grandmother: Always be on time and always smell good. I’d have to agree!

  3. Wow, how awesome maybe he can pass some tips on to my loving husband.

  4. Oh yeah – love me some ‘a little bit metro’ – especially the smelling good part. Some guys think its unmanly to take care of themselves but some manscaping and dressing well can go a long way! A man that pays attention to the details is a keeper fer sure! πŸ™‚

  5. Not too metro to make you wonder and not a caveman? Awesome!

  6. […] on October 5, 2009 by mommasunshine I was thinking about this all day yesterday, and how although there are many benefits to dating a man who is “a little bit metro”, there are also several downfalls. It’s not all a bed of roses dating a man with impeccable […]

  7. NEVER smells bad? Come on. I find that hard to believe. I’d check under the hood to make sure he was born a man.

    Just sayin’.

  8. Men that smell good? Automatic 10 points. Seriously, that is kick ass.

  9. I’m getting a clue, albeit a little late, of what to look for in a man πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

