Anxiety Overload

social-anxiety-googleAfter the interview yesterday, I was feeling pretty good, most importantly, pretty Zen about the whole thing.

The interview went pretty well, I’d say. I got a positive vibe from the interviewers (one of which would be my direct supervisor if  actually get the job), and I felt like I did everything that *I* could possibly do. Much better than my last interview, several months ago, when I walked away feeling horrible about it, knowing that I’d blown it, feeling like I’d lost my last remaining chance at finding immediate happiness.

After the interview yesterday, I was happy and satisfied knowing that I had done my part to the best of my abilities, and I was okay with leaving the rest to fate and The Universe.

This morning, however, the anxiety has settled in.

If I don’t get the job, I know that everything will be okay. If it’s meant to be, it will happen. And if it doesn’t, then it simply wasn’t the right job for me, period. If this isn’t it, the right one WILL come along.

I think this morning’s anxiety has a lot to do with simply waiting, with not knowing either way. At least if I knew that I didn’t get the job, I could take a deep breath, console myself briefly, and keep moving forward.

Of course, despite whether or not I actually got the job, I guess I have to keep moving forward anyhow, now don’t I?

For the next two days I am in an seminar about job search strategies and tapping into the hidden job market. Hopefully I won’t actually have to put what I’m going to learn to use.

Keep sending those positive vibes, guys. Even if I end up not getting this job, your support and positivity really helps me.

12 Responses

  1. Fingers crossed never goes amiss even if you ARE sure the universe will provide.

    It will.

    Sounds like you definately are doing all you can, which is pretty cool in itself.

    Good luck.

  2. I do hope you get the job. I do this to myself too. When the anxiety starts I try and remember this….the absolute worst case scenario is that you don’t get the job and since you already don’t have it, you aren’t losing anything anyway. 🙂

  3. Hmmm – that seminar sounds very cool! The thing is you left the interview feeling positive and happy about it – that is wonderful! Sounds like you have the right attitude on the waiting part too. I’m sure you’ll get some good news in a matter of time!

  4. Fingers crossed!

  5. I hope you hear something positive soon!

  6. Keeping my fingers crossed!

  7. fingers crossed, nothing is worse then the wait for the phone call or email that tells you yes or no.

  8. My fingers are crossed. I hate the waiting part too, so I know where you’re coming from…the not knowing, ugh!

    But, like I said, my fingers are crossed for you 🙂

  9. Waiting is always the hardest part. I don’t think any of us enjoy being in a state of limbo. Trust that all things happen or don’t happen for a reason, if this is meant to be it will, if not it is because something better awaits you.

  10. I’m waiting, breathing and hoping for the best for you!

  11. Whew! I know that anxiety all too well!

    You know you’re in good hands. You know things will work out exactly as they’re supposed to. They always do, don’t they?

  12. I;m faced with this, I am gathering some show bookings and some freelance work but worry it isnt enough for this winter…I dread looking and interviewing for something that will be a “yes” or a “no” (should it end up at that)

Leave a Reply

