What’s so great about US, anyhow? – Part I

I’ve been in love before, you know.

Twice before, as a matter of fact. The first one was the boy I met when I first went off to school when I was 18. We met and fell in love. It was the innocent kind of love that only 18 year olds can share. We had an intense relationship, mainly due to the fact that we discovered he had testicular cancer, requiring two surgeries and a couple of rounds of chemotherapy. I loved him so enough to sit beside him while he vomited his insides out from the chemo. I loved him enough talk him through all of his fears and his depression and all the other shit that came along with having cancer at 18.

We stayed together for six and a half years.

In the end, it boiled down to the fact that we had no idea how to have a healthy relationship. That, and the fact that we were each very different people at 24 than we were at 18. It ultimately ended up being okay. I firmly believe that we’d been each other’s lives for a reason, and once that reason was over, we began drifting apart…and stayed together for longer that we should have, only because we didn’t know any better.

The second one was my ex husband. I fell fast and hard for him when I was 24 years old…on the brink of breaking up with my other boyfriend. I loved him a lot. We had a very good relationship in a lot of areas….but there were some things about our relationship (and each other) that got ignored for a very, very long time. By the time we attempted “clean up”, I was drowning in depression and quite simply, the task seemed too great. I’d reached the point that while I still loved him…I was no longer in love with him…and realized that I hadn’t been for quite some time.

And I no longer had the energy to fight for us….because it was going to require a whole lot of work. I didn’t have it in me at the time.

The good news is that I’ve learned a lot from him, from our marriage, from that whole experience. I am extremely grateful to him for the 10 years that we had together. I grew a lot as a person during that time, and I know that I have him to thank for a lot of it. I do feel, though, that ending things was for the best. I just wish it could have happened in a less messy way…for the both of us.

I guess that’s one of those “live and learn” things.

Which brings me to present day…to CBG .

For those of you who don’t know the back story, we met online last November. I’d been reading his blog for months (after finding it through a mutual friend). I’d always read it and think, “Wow…he seems so sweet. I hope some lucky lady snatches him up and makes him as happy as he deserves to be.”

I had no idea it was going to be me.

IMG_1703

One day on a whim I sent him a friend request on Facebook. What came after that was something that is difficult to describe. I have never felt such an instant “click” with someone. A person that I connected with on so many levels.

That first night, we chatted until 1:00 in the morning…the only thing that stopped us then was work the next morning. I couldn’t get my mind off him….he was so unlike any other person that I’d ever met. We talked about anything and everything. I laughed until my cheeks hurt and my sides ached. It was absolutely exhilarating.

The one single drawback was that he lived three hours away. The thing is, we didn’t let that stop us. We knew that we had something there between us that we wanted to experience more.

The chatting continued for a couple of weeks until we decided that an in-person meeting was necessary. CBG does a great (and thorough!) job of recapping our first epic day-long date if you want to check it out.

It went on for three more months. Three months of seeing each other somewhere between every two to four weeks or so. That part was hard. What made it even harder was that I was going through a lot of personal issues of my own at the time, on top of dealing with being in a long distance relationship. Issues with my ex, issues with friends, issues with sorting out my life and getting myself together. In so many ways, the timing really wasn’t right for CBG and I to be together. But still…because of what we knew that we had together, we kept moving forward.

IMG_1633

Then February came. I’m not going to go into a whole lot of details about what happened, but things fell apart. Things fell apart between us, and I was heartbroken about it.

Heartbroken.

The worst part of all was that in the process, we made it so much harder than it needed to be for one another. Harder and so much more painful. We ended up hurting each other in ways that no two people who love each other ever should.

I knew that I’d lost something special. I spent the next three months working through it all. Working through anger and disappointment and heartache and grief and sorrow. I tried dating. I kept looking for someone that I had that “immediate click” with.

I couldn’t find it.

It’s impossible to find a replacement for someone that you still haven’t let go of. I wasn’t under any illusions. I knew that things hadn’t been perfect between the two of us…but the things that were good were VERY VERY good – were better than anything I’d ever experienced with anyone else before. I wanted to find that again.

The truth is…I still wanted him.

IMG_0787

…………………….to be continued……………………

18 Responses

  1. Yeah. Perfect click. Amen to that sista.

    You’re making my heart fill with joy with this story. It is sounding all too familiar….

    Yay!

  2. I’m kinda new to reading both of your blogs and I haven’t read the entire backstory yet, but I just have to say (and I’m NOT gay) that you are Gorgeous! I’m glad you’re both giving it another shot and I’m rooting for this to work!

  3. Hmmmm…. not sure if my comment from earlier posted so I’ll re-comment…

    1. I’m pretty new to Both your blogs and haven’t read the entire backstory yet, BUT I’m rooting for you two to make this awesome thing work!

    2. I think you are GORGEOUS – and I’m totally not gay.

  4. I am really enjoying reading your story. I started reading CBG a few months ago, so am happy to read your blog now, too. (And I was also wondering why the heck he was still single…)

    You guys…make me feel all warm and squishy inside. You both seem like wonderful people who have found their other half. I am standing on the sidelines with one of those huge #1 foams on my finger, rooting for you. πŸ˜€

  5. Hello! I wondered where your blog had disappeared to from its previous spot; I re-found it through CBG’s blog recently and it was good to find you’re doing ok! The last post I remember reading on your previous blog wasn’t very positive; it’s amazing how a bit of time can turn everything around for the better. Keep on smiling πŸ™‚

  6. OK, I’m waiting for the —-to be continued— on the edge of my seat.

  7. I think we enter into relationships for a reason, like you said. And maybe the reason with your latest relationship is for you to give it that second go. Can’t wait for updates.

    • Thanks. πŸ™‚ The good news is that we’ve both learned a lot and we’re approaching things a little differently now….definitely for the better. I guess that’s what life is all about.

  8. alicias post made me snikr.

  9. […] Love Doesn’t Always Make Sense Posted on May 31, 2009 by mommasunshine So….yeah. We’ve already established that I’m a hopeless romantic and that I’ve been in love before . […]

Leave a Reply

