What I Have…

When I went to bed last night I started thinking more about What I Want.

It occurred to me that I need to spend a little more time thinking about what I have in my life…because I have some very wonderful things.

– First and foremost,  I have possibly the two most wonderful children on the planet. They are lovely, they are beautiful, they are the light of my life and my reason for pushing forward in life and wanting to do better for myself.

– I have some very wonderful friends. It’s been a hard year in terms of my friendships, and in a lot of ways my life looks very different now than it did a year ago.  I am okay with that. I have met some great people, I have reconnected with old friends, and I have built up some other friendships in the last little while. I feel very blessed.

– I have reconnected with CBG in recent weeks. I haven’t been blogging about it much, out of respect for privacy (on both our parts). Things are still very much up in the air and I don’t know what is going to happen with us. I am grateful for this reconnection no matter how it ends up – it has been good to talk and clear the air a little bit more, if nothing else. What the future holds in that department I have no idea. I am in “wait and see” mode.

– I am feeling stronger now than I have in possibly the last year and a half of my life. I’ve had a rough go of things, but life is finally starting to make sense. I am settling into my life. I am figuring things out. I know, without a shadow of a doubt, that I’m gonna be okay.

No, life isn’t perfect right now. It’s a helluva lot better than it’s been in a while. I know that it’s only going to keep getting better. I know that I will be faced with difficulties and hard times again in my life. It’s okay, though – after everything that’s happened to me, I know that I will make it through whatever life happens to throw my way.

4 Responses

  1. That gratitude will take you far. Wait and see? A very good attitude too. It is SO easy to remember how it was or long for how it should be…

    Try to look at it AS IT IS NOW.

    Like you did here. What you have far outweighs what you don’t…. and life is always that way, if we choose to recognize it.

    Enjoy now.

    • Thanks, T. I’m doing my best to stay with the now. That’s a hard task for me – it feels like I spend so much of my life either looking backwards, or looking ahead. Living in the present is one of my greatest challenges, and the lesson I most need to learn in this life….

  2. I’m glad things are going positively for you. I am still working on that. Like you I have gone through a lot of tough times. I’m sure a lot of us have. Maybe some day my life will turn a corner like yours has. This article has given me hope.

  3. One of the things I remember most from watching The Secret DVD is to be happy and grateful for all the good in your life. Then ride that wave and be happy and grateful for some of the things you don’t yet have, as if you have them. That helps you attract it. And having an attitude of gratitude (as they called it in the DVD) is a a very good thing.

Leave a Reply

