The Guardian of My Happiness

A few weeks ago on Twitter, someone tweeted this: “You are the guardian of your happiness”. It was one of those things that I had the privilege of seeing at a time that I most needed to see it.

It’s tough to know what that means sometimes — being the guardian of your happiness. I don’t think that we always truly know what will make us happy at any given point in our lives. Also, sometimes something that made us happy a year ago isn’t going to be what makes us happy now. Happiness changes as evolves as we change and evolve over lifetimes.

Think about it — when I was a kid, the one thing that would have brought me a lot of happiness was a Barbie Dream House. Not so much anymore. Never did get that Barbie house, btw. Not that I’m bitter or anything.

*cough*

One of the things that evolves over our lives are our friendships. I’m not certain that most friendships are meant to last a lifetime, really. I think that people come in and out of our lives at different times, for different reasons. Sure, there are some friends that are there to stay, always, but others that will only be a part of our lives for a certain time period.

Being the guardian of my happiness lately has meant learning to know when to let go of friendships, and when to hang on. It’s tempting, I think, to try and hang onto our friendships, a certain nostalgia from a time in our lives that has come and gone, maybe. Lately I’ve learned the value of recognizing when it’s time to let go. I’ve learned how freeing it can be to say goodbye to someone whose time has come and gone. Sort of like clearing the clutter out of closet and giving away those things that we no longer need anymore….passing them on to someone who can make better use of them than I can.

Some friendships are worth fighting for. Others need to be allowed to fade away…and that’s okay. It’s all a part of learning and growth. I’m happy that my life isn’t stagnant, always staying the same way. Change is difficult sometimes, but you know what? If my life looked the same as it did a decade ago, I’d be pretty unhappy about that right now. Part of life is learning to embrace change, in all its forms.

And for me, right now, this is a big part of being The Guardian of Happiness. Embracing change.

4 Responses

  1. Like it. And yes, as I’ve grown older, I really cherish those friendships that I have in the moment. And I’ve learned to let others go. Not fun or easy but necessary.

  2. I completely agree with you on friendship. As hard as it is to let go of friendships that are no longer fitting your life or happiness, it is ultimately the right route. And guardian of your happiness? Yes, absolutely agree.

  3. I could have written this post. Lots of change and loss after going through a divorce. Who knew people felt obligated to choose sides? So glad to have found your blog.

    • It’s true about people feeling the need to choose sides. I went through that with an entire community of friends when my ex and I first split. I guess some people feel the need to do that for their own sense of security. It’s one of those things about divorce that I never expected to happen to me, and when it did, it was completely heartbreaking and shocking in a way. But the good news is that now I know that the people in my life are the ones that will be behind me no matter what I’m going through. And that’s worth a lot.

      Glad you found me, too. Welcome. :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,234 other followers

