Marathon-Less

Less than two weeks to go before the marathon that I thought I was going to run.

This is the marathon that I have had in my mind for at least six months now, as I fought my way back from anemia and built up my training miles. The marathon that I thought of when I hauled my ass out of bed many mornings at 4:30 to get out there and train before heading off to work. The marathon that I have wanted to do for over five years now, ever since the first one I ran. I have known that this was going to be my opportunity to prove to myself what I was made of.

It’s just not gonna happen this year, folks.

And I guess that shows exactly what I’m made of, now doesn’t it?

6 Responses

  1. :( why aren’t you going to do it? No matter what, you have put in a crapload of really good miles and HAVE climbed back from that, don’t negate all of that hard work just because you aren’t running the actual marathon race. You ARE there, you HAVE done all the miles, you don’t need a race to prove it. ((hug))

  2. Hang in there, you can always go for it again next year. *pat on the back*

  3. Yeah, I’m with jobo. Just because you’re not doing it doesn’t mean you haven’t DONE it already. Keep on keepin’ on, my friend!

    Write out your fears. We won’t negate them – we’ll just listen!

  4. [...] Tuesday, after completely succumbing to the hateful voice of doubt inside, I had a pretty rotten day. It all came to a head that day when I was consumed by shitty [...]

  5. [...] I officially backed out, as you can remember. I’ve been struggling with sciatica for at least the past month, and that was giving me just the excuse I needed to pull out of going for it. I felt broken down and defeated, too overwhelmed by my fears to get out there and just do it. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,279 other followers

