Lose Yourself

This morning was one of those tough runs for some reason. Not enough sleep, not enough water yesterday, not enough fuel as I was on my way out the door, too many things on my mind…just a lot of factors working against me.

Early on in the run, just as I was thinking that I was going to turn back toward home and just call it a failure, this song came on my running playlist, which I just happened to add last night.

And just like that, I found the strength to push through. The opening lyrics were the ones that filled me with the determination to push through the discomfort, push past the mental blocks, to let go of everything that was weighing me down.

Look, if you had, one shot,
or one opportunity
To seize everything you ever wanted,
one moment
Would you capture it?

I thought about how I have no right to complain about a challenging run.
Because I am able to run.
I have no right to complain about going to work.
Because I have a job.
I have no right to complain about doing housework.
Because I have a house.

Some days you’ve just gotta suck it up and push through. You’ve got to capture the moment, like this is your one shot.

Today, that’s what I was able to do.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,277 other followers

