Solo Weekend

So my weekend with CBG got canceled this time around.

It’s a funny thing. I’d actually said to a friend of mine earlier in the day, via text, that I was half wishing to be able to have a weekend all to myself. Not to sound ungrateful, but I’ve been thinking a lot lately about how with CBG’s arrival, I’m going to be losing most (if not all) of my alone time that I have come to cherish over the last three and a half years. There’s something about coming home from work to an empty house, eating cheese and crackers over the sink for dinner and watching Golden Girls re-runs in my underpants in silence that makes me appreciate the life that I have built. Part of me is really going to miss that.

Odd, I know.

So while I was disappointed at the last-minute cancellation of our weekend together, I truly wasn’t really that sad at all. I knew that it would be good for me to have a chunk of time alone to just do my thing and appreciate the solitude.

Saturday morning I went to the Farmer’s Market, just as CBG and I always do on our weekends. I went crazy buying market wares — good, fresh veggies, meat, eggs and yogurt for the week ahead. I ran a few more errands on Saturday before I decided to start the packing/purging process. There are only a few weeks until our upcoming move, and up until this point I haven’t done anything.

I spent several hours on Saturday packing and purging and making my load a whole lot lighter. It was pretty significant for me, actually. I’ll have a blog post all about just that sometime later this week, in fact.

Saturday night I curled up with a healthy dinner and movie. I got everything ready that I needed for my long run in the morning, and headed off to bed early. I was out of bed like a shot at 5:00 am on Sunday, eager to get out there for my run.

Most of Sunday morning was taken up with my epic long run. It was awesome. I took photos along the way and texted them to CBG to update him on my progress. He cheered me on the whole way. My own awesome cheering section.

After  my run I packed myself a picnic lunch and headed out to a nearby park.  I had a book…ome music…I chilled out for a while and enjoyed the sun before diving back into more packing. The rest of Sunday was spending packing and purging some more. It felt good.

All in all, the weekend was a wild success. I am still amazed at how much I enjoy being independent and on my own. I spent nearly a decade with my ex husband in which I was anything but independent. These days, I like doing things on my own. I hope to be able to carry that independence into my changing relationship with CBG; I think it will be crucial to my continued happiness in life.

It’s funny. Three years ago I would have been crushed at having to miss a weekend with CBG. Now, it was just “one of those things”. One of those things that I used to my advantage and actually came to enjoy.

The verdict? The solo weekend was a wild success.

4 Responses

  1. I love this! I had a feeling you’d embrace the weekend solo like whoa. And you did! So fun!

  2. As I said on his post, I’d consider one missed weekend an investment in many more to come! I’m so excited for you guys! And I, like you, really dig my time alone. I bet you’ll still make it a priority after the move.

  3. […] wanted to write a profound post about my solo weekend. Because the weekend ended up being about more than just mean enjoying my own company. There was a […]

  4. […] discussed earlier, last weekend ended up being a solo weekend for me. No kids, no man. I haven’t had one of those in a very, very long time. And I gotta […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,329 other followers

