CBG’s Quirks

A while back my bloggy friend Jobo wrote about her man’s quirks. She suggested that I and our other bloggy friend T do the same, just for fun, especially since we’re all meeting up for an epic bloggy weekend adventure in Maine (less than 3 weeks to go!!). So  here are a few random things about CBG, his “quirks” if you will — things that make him unique.

He is a walking encyclopedia of music trivia. Take the most obscure 80s song you can possibly think of. There’s a very good chance that he’ll be able to tell you the artist, the year it came out, and the name of the album it was from. True story. I’m no slouch when it comes to my knowledge of 80s music and I know that it turns him on just a little bit more when I can pull out a little nugget about a lesser known song or artist. And every once in a long….long…very long while, I might even know something that he doesn’t. And boy, does that irritate the heck out of him. heh.

While we’re on the topic of music, he’s very particular about his music playlists. He’s forever making different playlists for different occasions. He catalogs his music very carefully and loves making lists for things like road trips and the like.

He never, ever smells bad. True story. I don’t know what it is that makes this the case, but in the three and a half years that I have known him, he’s never smelled bad. Not once. Not even a little bit. It actually creeps me out a little bit because honestly, every man on the planet smells bad at least once in a while, right? Well….not this guy.

He has the culinary preferences of a five year old. Now, granted, since January he’s been making a huge effort toward eating healthy and has been doing great in this department, but I know that if there were no health or caloric repercussions, his diet would consist of things like mac ‘n cheese, hot dogs, pizza, french fries and ice cream. Every day.

Speaking of his culinary preferences, the only fruit he eats are apples. Uncooked. Seriously. You can also count the kinds of vegetables he eats on one and a half hands.

He’s quite particular about his appearance. He irons. A lot. As in, more than I do. He makes sure when we go out somewhere together (even if it’s just to the Farmer’s Market on a Saturday morning) that we “match” , so that we look like we go together…so not one of us is over or under-dressed compared to the other.

He loves a good gossip fest. He’s all over the latest celebrity gossip like stink. Blogger gossip? You betcha. He just loves a juicy little tidbit about other people. We’ve had more than our fair share of gossip sessions together. It’s one of our delicious little guilty pleasures.

He is hilariously funny. He makes me laugh more than any person I’ve ever met. Like tears-rolling-down-my-cheeks, sides aching kind of laughter. He loves it when he cracks me up with his ridiculousness. The more I laugh, the more it encourages him. It certainly helps that we have basically identical senses of humour. Speaking of laughter, he does a killer impression of Kermit the Frog, singing Shakira. Makes me laugh every.single.time.

He’s a gentleman. He opens the car door for me. Often. Just because he knows how much I love it. He pays attention to what makes his woman happy and is sure to do those things on a regular basis.

Often, when falling asleep, just as he’s drifting off, he makes this funny sound. Not quite a snore, not quite a honk…but something in between the two. A “snonk”, perhaps. It wakes us both up every time he does it. He snonks, waking me up, and if he’s still sleeping, I wake him up with my laughter. The weird thing is that he’ll do this every night that we’re together for several months, and then he won’t do it again for a several month stretch. I don’t know why he does it or what makes him stop. Right now we’re in a “no snonking” phase.

He is incredibly sappy. If you read his blog and/or follow him on Twitter, you might have a bit of an idea about this already. But those PDAs are nothing compared to some of things he says when we’re alone together. Swoon-worthy stuff, a lot. He makes me fall in love with him all over again pretty much every time we’re together.

I’ve never seen him drunk. And trust me, I’ve tried. He came close on cruise ship on the night after our engagement when we were given free cheap champagne to celebrate. Between the giddiness of our engagement and the cheap booze, he was definitely “tipsy”. Hilarious. I’m making it my personal goal to try and get CBG good and liquored up while on our epic Maine weekend. Woot!

6 Responses

  1. I LOVE THIS! I think he and GJ must be similar in their ironing abilities, huh?! And M is the same way re: matching – not under or overdressed depending on where we are going, so we match too. And we SO need to get him drunk in Maine. That isn’t even a question. I love the part about him being a gentleman and swoonworthy words…that’s the best, isn’t it? Oh and we also need to get him to eat something other than an apple in Maine, for fruit. Watermelon, perhaps? A banana? (twss..)

    • Apparently the last time he tried to eat a banana he got 3 bites in before he gagged. With him, he either likes the flavour and hates the texture, or likes the texture and hates the flavour. I mean, he gagged on yogurt!! Yeesh!

      • I just recently bought a hot little black dress for our high school reunion and tried it on for GJ over the weekend. His reaction? “Well, now I have to go buy a new outfit!” Nothing like, “Wow, you look awesome” or anything. I totally threw him off by upping the clothing choices for that night. Sheesh.

        And yes, I’m in agreement with Jobo. Watermelon is a perfect summer treat! Or fresh peaches. Or Maine blueberries! *drool*

        Love this post! Can’t wait til we’re all together soon!!! YAY!

  2. OMG I LOVE this!!! I feel like I kinda know CBG now after reading about his “quirks.” I love that he never smells bad – how is that even possible?? Scott’s favorite thing to say after we get a good long sweaty run in and he’s about to hop in the shower: “Man, I smell like mold.I need to shower.” LOL gross right??

    I am TOTALLY stealing this idea to do for Scott’s bday on May 30th – an ode to Scott, quirky and all ;-)

  3. [...] birthday *and* I’ve been digging the “quirks” posts my sister and blog friend Momma Sunshine wrote recently about their respective men, I thought it was more than appropriate to use [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,256 other followers

