How Sunshine Got Her BadAss Back

This winter has been tough on me, health-wise. This whole anemia thing has really thrown me for a loop. Since being diagnosed with anemia, I have been doing my best to take care of myself and do the things I know I need to do to get better. I’ve put my health first, I’ve focused on taking care of myself, which I admit isn’t something that comes naturally to me. Thankfully it is getting easier, as I continue to be shown proof that taking care of me is the best way that I can continue taking care of everyone else.

Slowly, I am getting there. I haven’t exactly enjoyed taking iron supplements, getting weekly B12 shots or taking time off running. But I am doing them. And — wonder of wonders — this taking care of myself is actually working. I no longer wake up every morning and have the first thought that bursts forth from my exhausted mind be a curse word. I no longer spend the day being irritated by every possible thing imaginable. About a week and a half ago I started waking up early again. Early as in before the sun. Early as in “most of the city is still sleeping”. Early like I used to get up last summer and fall, when I was feeling healthy and strong and on top of the world. My absolute favourite time of day.

Two mornings this week I went running. That’s right, kids. Me…running again. I can’t even begin to tell you the amount of joy this filled me with. In my misery these last few months, I’d truly forgotten how happy running makes me. Of course, it’s tough to remember that when all of one’s energy is spent on the most basic functions in life. But this week, I had two opportunities to be reminded. I’ve lost some fitness over the past few months, I have ground to regain, but it’s not nearly as bad as I thought it would be. The joy of an early morning run more than made up for any bad feelings about not being in marathon condition anymore.I’m back out there, finally feeling more like myself again, ready to rock out with my bad-ass self.

I may not be back to my former bad ass self of a few short months ago, but dammit, I am well on my way.

It’s good to be back.

7 Responses

  1. Oh don’t kid yourself Sunshine. You ARE bad ass and always have been. You’re just sharpening your edge :-) asslap!!

  2. YAY!!!! Welcome back, lady! :)

  3. I’m glad you are feeling better!

  4. Glad you are feeling a bit better.

  5. I was just told this morning to begin taking liquid B vitamins. I look forward to feeling on top of the world too!

    Go girl!

  6. [...] A week ago I had another appointment with my naturopath. She’s been treating me for my anemia and I have to say that I’ve been feeling a lot better in the past six weeks or so. I’ve still got a long way to go, however, but at this point, any progress is a good thing. The fact that I’ve started running again is proof positive of how much better I’m feeling. I’m getting my life back, finally. [...]

  7. [...]  (for more on what exactly ‘badass’ status is all about, you might want to refer to Momma Sunshine’s post on the topic from awhile back, she does it much better justice than I ever [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,277 other followers

