My 10 Long Distance Date Wishes for 2011 – Revisited

Early this year, CBG and I wrote mutual blog posts about our date wishes for the upcoming year. Things we’d like to do together in 2011. Since CBG revisited his post, I thought that I’d do the same.

1. Go to the drive-in.

Check. Unfortunately we watched “Horrible Bosses”, which we both agreed was a horrible movie, but it was still a fun experience overall.

2. Go to Prince Edward Island. 

Check! This is where I ran the half-marathon in October. Would love to go back again when it’s a “just for fun” weekend.

3. Spend a day at Kejimikujik National Park.

Check! This was a great experience for us, over the Labour Day weekend. We picnicked, we hiked, we enjoyed the scenery. Good times.

4. Watch a sunset. 

This is one that we didn’t do. We did get to see our fair share of sun rises, however, including one on the deck of a cruise ship as we pulled into Puerto Rico. I think I can live with having missed a sunset.

5. See a concert.

We didn’t manage this one, either. And no, CBG, watching you perform “Crocodile Rock” on the cruise ship definitely does NOT count.

6. Have a regular “dinner and  a movie” date.

I believe this one happened at least once. I seem to recall a sushi dinner date in there at one point.

7. Go to the Look-Off again.

We managed this one as well. We had a beautiful view of the Annapolis Valley and absolutely loved it.

8. Explore a hiking trail.

When we spent our day at Keji we explored several hiking trails. I loved the fact that CBG spent a lot of time outdoors that weekend and even though he’s not an outdoor kind of guy, he didn’t complain once. Now THAT is love, people.

9. Swim in the ocean – together.

Done. And even better – it was when we were in Grand Turk. And folks, it doesn’t get much better than that.

10. Dance together.

This one also happened while we were on our cruise. It wasn’t quite the romantic slow-dance I had in mind – it was hamming it up while dancing to cheesy 80s music, but damn, it was a lot of fun.

So according to my count, we accomplished 8 out of 10 of my 2011 date wishes. Not too shabby. What this tells me, though, is that I need to shoot for even bigger and better things for us in 2012. Because with some positive thinking and some effort, I think we can accomplish a lot together.

2 Responses

  1. Wow, you did almost all of these!! I still think the concert on the cruise counts as the concert, to CBG’s credit hehe ;-) I love this idea and hope you do it again in 2012 :)

  2. That’s awesome! You two had a pretty awesome year!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,281 other followers

